Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 11:19 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 109
Default About to buy Evga GTX 260 Core 216 SC but a question regarding the power.

I have Cooler master extreme power 650W.
Will this work ok with the video card?
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 11:35 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

No problem. It will work fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 11:42 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,773

My System Specs

Default

Edited : Sky is always right :D
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware

Last edited by Inik; November 28, 2008 at 12:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 11:45 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,616
Default

The answer to your question is NO.

The power supply you have actually has less output available on its +12V rails than some 500W PSUs.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 02:18 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 109
Default

I checked the manual and it says
12V 1 =18A
12V 2 =18A
Doesn't it meet the minimum requirement?
I checked the other more expensive PSUs and they either have the similar setting or have only one 12V available.
For example 12V = 40A
I don't know much about this. I could be wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 02:29 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

I bet it will work fine.

Edit: In fact a google search reveals a lot of people with that combo, none are having problems.

Last edited by Squeetard; November 28, 2008 at 02:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 02:45 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
No problem. It will work fine.
Says the man with a PC&Power cooling PSU

Not all 650w PSU are made the same his is nearly 2 years old and as sky said it doesn't even keep pace with most 500w models these days.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 02:53 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Go to the overclock.net forums, 2 guys with that power supply and 260's are battling it out over 3dmark06.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 03:00 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagle Eye View Post
Says the man with a PC&Power cooling PSU

Not all 650w PSU are made the same his is nearly 2 years old and as sky said it doesn't even keep pace with most 500w models these days.
Easy there EE, I did take the time to look up the posted specs on both the PSU and the GPU on NCIX, from what I could see it should handle it no problem. SKY disagrees. And so do you apparently.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 03:08 PM
Linus's Avatar  
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 716
Default

I'll bet my left testicle it works just fine.

That doesn't mean it's a bad idea to upgrade your PSU though.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes