Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2008, 02:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Summerside,PE,Canada,C1N3K1
Posts: 19
Default Bought my dream video card now a nightmare!

Back in June I bought a Diamond Ati Radeon HD 3870x2 soon after it wasn't working right so I RMA it and here it is almost December and Im on my 5th RMA. They just keep sending me out junk as if they don't even test them or give a shit. What the heck can I do I'm totally feedup and now they won't even answer my last request for an RMA. Well the only thing wrong with this one is the fan in draging so I'm hopeing I can find another fan and that would set me up. So if anyone has a fan or a complete unit thats fried and the fan is good send me an email
__________________
AMD Phenom ll 955 BE
Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H
G.Skill Ripjaw X F3-12800CL9D-4GBXL
Tagan BZ Series 800W Power Supply
WD Cavier SE16 500Gb X2 in Raid 0
Diamond Radeon HD 6970 880MHZ

Last edited by xtreme1; November 28, 2008 at 05:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2008, 03:45 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

Arctic Cooling

I have one of those on my 7600 GT brought the temps down 25 C.

Arctic Cooling Accelero Twin Turbo VGA Cooler - DirectCanada

Cheapest price at $33
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2008, 04:17 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,925

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMCD View Post
Arctic Cooling

I have one of those on my 7600 GT brought the temps down 25 C.

Arctic Cooling Accelero Twin Turbo VGA Cooler - DirectCanada

Cheapest price at $33
That doesn't fit on a 3870 X2.


I would go with some aftermarket cooling too but wouldn't know what to use.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2008, 04:30 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by belgolas View Post
That doesn't fit on a 3870 X2.


I would go with some aftermarket cooling too but wouldn't know what to use.
My bad didn't see the x2 part.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2008, 05:12 PM
shumway's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London - Ontario
Posts: 95

My System Specs

Default

Dosen't look like there has been any after market cooling made to fit the x2's besides water cooling.

Just checked the net out real quik and theres a good couple people looking too.

Pretty stupid that no company built one when they pretty much have products for just about every other card out there.

You might want to have a look around on ebay to see if any ones selling broken cards.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2008, 05:43 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

HOw about buying a Saphire? Mine works flawlwessly, and runs cool as is. In my FS thread, price can be negotiated
__________________
Acer 5920G ( Stock Air ) no OC:P
At least its DX10!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 05:09 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Summerside,PE,Canada,C1N3K1
Posts: 19
Default How Much?

hey how much for the Sapphire video card.
__________________
AMD Phenom ll 955 BE
Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H
G.Skill Ripjaw X F3-12800CL9D-4GBXL
Tagan BZ Series 800W Power Supply
WD Cavier SE16 500Gb X2 in Raid 0
Diamond Radeon HD 6970 880MHZ
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 07:42 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

You said that the only problem you had with one is that the fan is "dragging" what do you mean by that. Provided it is adequately cooling your videcard than there is no reason to suggest that there is anything seriously wrong with it.

I understand that this has been a very frustrating situation for you, maybe you could breifly describe some of the other RMA that you requested and it might determine why Diamond might not be responding to your request for another.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 12:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Summerside,PE,Canada,C1N3K1
Posts: 19
Default

Actually the dragging noise from the fan was more like a rattling clicking noise and is very loud, hard to play games with this going on. Now for RMA #1 was a brand new card and one of the GPU's was cutting in and out, RMA #2 they sent me a card that the fan didn't work, RMA #3 it looked like someone put it on concrete and stomped on it and nothing worked, this one they covered the cost of shipping for me, RMA #4 the video did not work from day one, RMA # 5 the fan was making a rattling clicking noise which is very annoying. This one they haven't answered me but I did say I was getting really fed up with all this and they perhaps should cover my shipping cost because none of this is my fault
__________________
AMD Phenom ll 955 BE
Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H
G.Skill Ripjaw X F3-12800CL9D-4GBXL
Tagan BZ Series 800W Power Supply
WD Cavier SE16 500Gb X2 in Raid 0
Diamond Radeon HD 6970 880MHZ
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 01:37 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Sounds like a real GPU friggin nightmare....hope you get it sorted out!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes