Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2008, 06:28 PM
486's Avatar
486 486 is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 417

My System Specs

Default Diamond HD4870 1GB

I have Diamond HD4870 1GB in Vista 64.
In a few seconds after PC wakes up, screen flickers a second or two.
I did not notice that before, but since I got new install on P5Q-E I see the described behavior.
Is this a normal or abnormal behaviour? I have read somewhere that when 4870 switches from savings mode to normal mode something like that happens.
Any 4870 owners observe the described symptoms?
__________________
486
Silverstone TJ-08E + Seasonic X-660 650W
Asus P8Z77-M Pro + Intel i7-3770 4GHz + Kingstone HyperX 2 x 8GB
Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Crucial M4 256GB + Crucial M4 128GB
Evga GTX 1080 FTW 8GB + BenQ BL3201PH 4K 32"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2008, 09:20 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 4,015

My System Specs

Default

I had that happen when I had my 4870. The screen would flicker but never had any problems.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 06:41 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

I get the same flicker on Vista x64 with with my 4870x2's, I never really put any thought into it. My cards work, and I have no issues with them. Seems its just a normal thing then.

I wouldn't worry, unless your card causing artifact's or crashing in games, chances are its fine.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 11:24 AM
486's Avatar
486 486 is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 417

My System Specs

Default

Update.

Actually I found out that it flickers (like switching video mode and back) when:
1. PC woke up/started up.
2. Windows Explorer goes to the folder containing VOB files FOR THE FIRST TIME and the view is large or medium icons (so Windows did not build icons for the files yet). So, you copied VOB files from DVD and go to the destination folder for the first time.

I also noticed that the more VOB files in the folder, the longer screen flickers. It appears to me that as Windows builds/extracts icons it uses 4870 to do something (encoding?) and it causes screen to flicker.

So, it is not really related to the waking up, but possibly to video encoding?

Driver problem?

Any ideas?
__________________
486
Silverstone TJ-08E + Seasonic X-660 650W
Asus P8Z77-M Pro + Intel i7-3770 4GHz + Kingstone HyperX 2 x 8GB
Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Crucial M4 256GB + Crucial M4 128GB
Evga GTX 1080 FTW 8GB + BenQ BL3201PH 4K 32"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 11:26 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,448
Default

I would say it is a Vista issue. I wouldnt worry about it.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2008, 06:39 PM
486's Avatar
486 486 is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 417

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, it clear now. Flicker happens right as the address bar on the top of Windows Explorer window gets filled with green thingy (builds icons/folder info) on VIDEO_TS folder.
Weird, just restarted computer, it switched to 1280x720 (reported as max supported regime). Restarted again, back to 1920x1200. Windows/videodriver/media center update screwing with my PC?
Weird.
__________________
486
Silverstone TJ-08E + Seasonic X-660 650W
Asus P8Z77-M Pro + Intel i7-3770 4GHz + Kingstone HyperX 2 x 8GB
Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Crucial M4 256GB + Crucial M4 128GB
Evga GTX 1080 FTW 8GB + BenQ BL3201PH 4K 32"
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes