Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2008, 01:11 PM
arekieh's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 819
Default Will PCI-E 4x Slow down my 4870?

Hey guys,
I was installing my OCZ XTC ram cooler, and my graphics card doesnt fit in the 16x pcie slot. So its in my 4x slot. will this make a big difference performance wise?
thanks
__________________
Mobo: Asus P6T Deluxe | CPU: i7 940 | Ram: 3x2 GB | HSF: CM V8 | GPU: HD 6950 | PSU: PCP&C 750W | ]HDD: WD 500gb x3, 120GB Vertex 2 | Case: Antec 1200 | Monitor: 3x Asus VE247H | OS: Win7 Ultimate x64
My Trading Rep:
HWC
OCN
Heat
Ebay

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2008, 01:18 PM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

4x Will slow it down by a lot, but it depends on what resolution your running. For example, at 1280x1024 in Cod4 an 8800gts on a x16 gets 133fps, but at x4 gets 59fps. At a higher resolution of 1920x1200 on x16 it gets 57, and on the x4 40fps.
(Benchmarks ? Call of Duty 4 : Crossfire meets PCI Express 2.0 ? More Lanes, More Frames?)
But considering your 4870 is alot powerfull, the fps range would be even greater for you. I'm estimating that youll get around 1/3 of your fps on the x4, so avoid the x4 for gaming. Also, are you saying that the ram cooler is blocking the video card from fitting in the x16 slot? If so any performance gains you might get from cooling your ram would be grossly outweighed by the hit in performace of the x4.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00

Last edited by odis172; November 22, 2008 at 01:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2008, 01:38 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

You'd sacrifice GPU performance for a ram cooler.. thats a bit backwards.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2008, 01:45 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Don't do it.
4 lanes won't work worth a damn.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2008, 02:35 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
You'd sacrifice GPU performance for a ram cooler.. thats a bit backwards.
Agreed. I doubt your rams voltage is even high enough to warrant having the cooler in the first place, other than for the "Bling appeal"

You know you can purchase the Corsair ver. and is likely to have a better fit if you're determined to have a ram cooler.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2008, 02:37 PM
arekieh's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 819
Default

Nah, i mostly bought the OCZ XTC for looks, its the chrome one with blue LED's :( its all for the bling appeal lol. This sucks, now i am sad :(
w/e i might just leave it like this for now, im not playing any newer games right now, ill just leave it in the 4x slot, if my fps is low in a game or something, ill move it up into the x16 slot. only takes 2 seconds anyways. Thanks for the info though, much appreciated
__________________
Mobo: Asus P6T Deluxe | CPU: i7 940 | Ram: 3x2 GB | HSF: CM V8 | GPU: HD 6950 | PSU: PCP&C 750W | ]HDD: WD 500gb x3, 120GB Vertex 2 | Case: Antec 1200 | Monitor: 3x Asus VE247H | OS: Win7 Ultimate x64
My Trading Rep:
HWC
OCN
Heat
Ebay

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2008, 02:42 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,529

My System Specs

Default

At least you recognised the issue and asked about it.... I did some airflow management on my old S939 rig and couldn't figure out why my benchmarks were in the toilet until I remembered that I'd moved the vid card. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2008, 03:07 PM
arekieh's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 819
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
At least you recognised the issue and asked about it.... I did some airflow management on my old S939 rig and couldn't figure out why my benchmarks were in the toilet until I remembered that I'd moved the vid card. :)
thats one thing i never forget, the PCI-E 4x thing. I bought a new mobo, when i got my 7900GTO, because i needed a pci-e to run it. It was a 4x pci-e and the GTO was running at 1/3 of its capabilities, or atleast it was getting like 1/2 the amount of 3d06 marks compared to similar systems, but i know lots of cards are different in the 4x vs 16x thing. w/e. i guess well see, im gonna install cod4 again, and see how my fps matches up to wat it used to be

WOAH, avg 35 fps in cod4..... before i had like 80...... holy ***

EDIT* Im thinking Zip Ties to the resque, it only needs like 1-2 mm more for the PCB of the card not to bend, if i just zip tie the end that is too long, from underaneath, to the ram clips. it will stick nice, and will give enough clearance for the video card :D
__________________
Mobo: Asus P6T Deluxe | CPU: i7 940 | Ram: 3x2 GB | HSF: CM V8 | GPU: HD 6950 | PSU: PCP&C 750W | ]HDD: WD 500gb x3, 120GB Vertex 2 | Case: Antec 1200 | Monitor: 3x Asus VE247H | OS: Win7 Ultimate x64
My Trading Rep:
HWC
OCN
Heat
Ebay


Last edited by arekieh; November 22, 2008 at 04:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes