Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2007, 03:04 PM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default possible to run SLI with an 8800GTS 640 and an 8800GTS 320?

Anyone know if it's possible to run these two cards in SLI? I'm kinda tempted to try it, but I'd have to pull my water cooling stuff off my GTS640, and take my GTS320 out of its package. Is anyone else as curious as I am, or does anyone know the answer?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2007, 06:43 PM
werty316's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 427
Default

As far as I know it should since both share the same core; the only problem is the memory buffer will only go as high as the card with the lowest amount of memory which is 320MB.
__________________
If you can see Chuck Norris, he can see you. If you can't see Chuck Norris you may be only seconds away from death.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2007, 06:45 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,489

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by werty316 View Post
As far as I know it should since both share the same core; the only problem is the memory buffer will only go as high as the card with the lowest amount of memory which is 320MB.
What he said.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2007, 07:04 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I asked this question a couple of months ago- I'me curious to see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2007, 09:36 PM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Do we have a kind of Worklog\Testing session here ?
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2007, 10:18 AM
xShadowAero's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Default Yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Misoprostol View Post
Anyone know if it's possible to run these two cards in SLI? I'm kinda tempted to try it, but I'd have to pull my water cooling stuff off my GTS640, and take my GTS320 out of its package. Is anyone else as curious as I am, or does anyone know the answer?
Yes you can, although they say you need to use Coolbits when your cards have different memory sizes. Must be the same GPU, do not have to be the same vendor or clock (since rev 80.x driver).
FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2007, 01:07 PM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It didn't work.

Test bed:

eVGA 680i
Intel Pentium D 805
2x 256MB cheapo RAM
el cheapo Maxtor 120GB SATA hard drive
BFG 8800 GTS OC 640MB
BFG 8800 GTS OC 320MB
Windows XP Service Pack 2
Latest drivers off nVidia web site
Random 600W SLI power supply.

SLI is not available as an option in the driver control panel

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2007, 01:21 PM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Update:

Talked to BFG tech support and according to them it should work. I'll update with more details once I have them. Hopefully I will have some time play around with it tonight.

Update #2:

Talked to eVGA. They say there's no way that will work.

Update #3:

Talked to XFX. They say that some people have gotten it working, and there are setting in nTune, but they won't tell me where they are.

Some random reading has produced some evidence that I may need to have the card with less memory in the top slot. I will try this when I get home.

Last edited by Misoprostol; May 9, 2007 at 04:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2007, 06:52 PM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Everyones saying different things huh ?

XFX is probably right. There has to be some ppls out there that got it to work. Let us know how things are going!
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2007, 09:00 PM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

tried flashing the 640MB card to the bios of the 320mb card, tried both slots. SLI is not detected :(
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800gts 512mb miggs78 Video Cards 0 March 9, 2008 07:40 AM
Which 8800gts 512 or gt? dboulay79 Video Cards 13 February 21, 2008 12:33 PM
8800GTS 640mb darkorb Video Cards 4 November 10, 2007 01:57 PM
Can i use a 8800GTS 640 to F@H? Apollo4g HardwareCanucks F@H Team 1 August 21, 2007 05:20 PM
Gaming Shootout: HD 2900xt vs 8800gts vs 8800gts: X-Bit labs Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 12 May 29, 2007 04:08 AM