Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2008, 08:55 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default 2nd GTX 280 & HX1kW on the way!

Anyone interested,
I couldn't resist the prices @ NCIX (thanks to out CDN$ bouncing back)...
1. GTX 280 SSC $509 - $30 MIR = $479
2. Corsair HX 1 kW $269 - $20 MIR = $249

Finally I'll give GTX 280's in SLI a go, I'll run some Benchmarks with the E8400 OC'd at both 3.83 Ghz and 4.05 Ghz @ 1920 x 1200 Res.

Will run Benches on Crysis, Warhammer and FC2 in comparison to single GTX 280...

Should have some numbers posted by Sunday. (hopefully hardware arrives tomorrow).
Looking forward to it!

Cheers
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2008, 09:08 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,122

My System Specs

Default

Nice, now thats lots of power.
what kind of numbers can be expected from gtx280 in sli ?
or what you shooting for?
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2008, 09:19 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Hey Jason...no idea really?? Not sure, but here's what I presently get:
1. 3DMark06 18.5K ...don't expect this to change much as its so CPU bound...but hoping to crack 20K
2. Crysis Benchamrk hoping for 50 FPS all Very High 1920 x 1200
3. Crysis Warhammer hoping for 60 FPS Benchmark
4. FC2 Hoping for 60 FPS All Ultra 2-4AA

We'll see...
So damn...now I'm really regretting selling you those parts...;(...as of now I have a spare PC Power and Cooling 750W PSU...with those parts I'd be close to building another decent Rig...hahahahaha
Anyhow, you want a 7 month old PC Power and Cooling Quad Silencer 750W PSU - 60Amps on a single 12V Rail? Or do you want to sell me back my old parts :)

Cheers
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2008, 09:24 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,122

My System Specs

Default

pm sent
im sli'd out can let the 8800gtx go back,if you really want it,i still have other one from capt vortex
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2008, 10:09 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

You might think about some additional cooling for the those GTX280 its hot enough on its own, should get pretty toasty in there with 2 and your case looks to be lacking in the airflow department.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2008, 10:25 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

I'm not sure...my case seems to keep things quite cool so far...done some "positive pressure" tests on air flow and surprisingly all seems good....? I know for a Raidmax Smilidon who'd have thought...
The 80mm Intake is locates on the side right next to the GPU with another 80mm exhaust above it. Qlso, 120mm intake from the front provides unrestricted airflow (only 1 HDD) directly to the front of the PSU's...
If its an issue I'll replace the Case...like the looks of the Antec1200 with all those fans..
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2008, 05:50 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default

Thats going to be a great setup, hopefully your cpu can keep up.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2008, 06:15 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

hmmm... nice Folding farm.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2008, 08:55 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Thats going to be a great setup, hopefully your cpu can keep up.
I hear ya....was really torn between this present "update" to my Rig or going with a new CPU, was considering a new E8400 with EO (presently have to set 1.45v to vCore in BIOS to get stable @ 4.05) or was also considering a new Q9550 (would hope to get that OC'd to 3.6).
So we'll see how the old E8400 performs @ 3.83 and 4.05. Did do a Bench run a 4.275Ghz but had to set vCore to 1.55v...ouch!!
I know it seems like over-kill, but hey, its a hobby and I got the cash, so why not, we only live once!!!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2008, 01:20 PM
Retro's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: B.C.
Posts: 129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
I hear ya....was really torn between this present "update" to my Rig or going with a new CPU, was considering a new E8400 with EO (presently have to set 1.45v to vCore in BIOS to get stable @ 4.05) or was also considering a new Q9550 (would hope to get that OC'd to 3.6).
So we'll see how the old E8400 performs @ 3.83 and 4.05. Did do a Bench run a 4.275Ghz but had to set vCore to 1.55v...ouch!!
I know it seems like over-kill, but hey, its a hobby and I got the cash, so why not, we only live once!!!
I say enjoy it, and blow through that 20 grand in 06!
I think you are doing great with the E8400, just too bad about the v-core needed.
I had a similar E8400 CO which I had as high as 4400MHz but going past 1.5 on the v-core was scaring the crap out of me so I kept it at 4000 with a v-core of about 1.4. The E8600 I blew 300 bucks on is probably an average performer compared to some but it does 4400 stable at about 1.4 so I am happy with that. Still haven't broken 20 grand yet, I get about 19,500 at 4400 and hit a high of 19,878 at 4600. Hopefully future drivers will eventually inch me up there!
Two cards is going to be awesome in your rig. Will enjoy seeing the results
__________________
Latest build:
i5 750@3800MHz 20x190@1.38125v
Noctua NH-U12P/NF-P12
4G GSkill DDR3 2000 Ripjaws
Asus P7P55D-Pro
2x EVGA GTX275 in SLI
PC P&C 750 Silencer
Cuda 500
Antec 902
W7 64 RTM
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes