Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 09:37 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Yep. So the question remains...will ASUS use the same pcb, or use 4870x2 pcb...? From the pics, seems like they have chosen to limit clocks by limiting power.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 09:50 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: BC
Posts: 22
Default

TechConnect Magazine - Sapphire Radeon HD 4850 X2 pictured

2gb ddr3 though, nice for those with hi-res displays.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 09:52 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Tech Connect has my link as source. I suppose not everyone can read chinese though.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 10:01 AM
cwestwell's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NWT
Posts: 675
Default

Yeah the 4870X2 wasn't the biggest seller ....it's taken the premium spot so it came with the most premium price $619 - $720 which is why I think the 4850X2 would offer a sub premium card in the same price range as the 280 with better performance which would equal more sales for ATI.

That Chinese site (often shifty but sometimes correct) If I didnt now better I would say that is a Saphire 4850X2 or more likely An ASUS ROG Xtreme 4870X2 it looks similar to the ROG 3870X2 but time will tell...and as Skymtl said it will be limited in release .....Only time will tell I guess
__________________
_______________________________________________

E8600 420x10 |Thermalright 120 Black | Maximus Formula | ATI 4870X2 | 4GB Buffalo FireStiX PC8500 | Corsair HX1000 | Lian Li V2010B | Vista Ultimate 64bit


Q6600 334x9 |Thermaltake Blu Orb | ASUS P5Q-PRO| ATI 2900XT | 6GB Corsair XMS2 PC6400 | Corsair HX520 | Lian Li V600B | Vista Home Premium 64bit

Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 10:35 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,680
Default

Personally, I think that due to the limited release you will be better served with buying a GTX 280. ESPECIALLY considering the associated problems that come with running a dual GPU card.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 10:50 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

If these cards are sideport enabled, then they are worth it, IMHO, but if not(and from the looks of the pcb, they are not), it's a waste of shelf space, IMHO. single-gpus only.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 11:43 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,680
Default

Considering ATI has not enabled the Sideport feature on their own cards, I highly doubt that the likes of Sapphire, Palit and ASUS will enable it. But, you never know.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 12:01 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

the reference PCB's have it, but it's not driver enabled, AFAIK.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 12:16 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,680
Default

The reference R700 cards have the sideport feature but as I said, it is not enabled. This suits me just fine since at this point I just can't see applications needing the extra bandwidth afforded by the Sideport. What is really holding back PC games these days seems to be the bad coding that goes hand in hand with being developed in parallel with the console versions.

IMO, the Sideport's addition was more of a proof of concept rather than something ATI would have enabled right off the bat.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 12:22 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

QuadFire really requires it IMHO. I didn't have very long with two cards before my first died, but I was still seeing the dreaded "microstutter" in specific situations. I do think that the sideport could lessen that, but as you have said, it's kinda up to programmers to make use of it first....and yes, proof of concept, like tesselation engine in R600, but that doesn't mean it cannot be used...



And really, the real use of sideport is under NDA, but I'm pretty sure a couple of the smarter guys out there can figure it out...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes