Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2008, 01:14 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
I must admit....I am awefully tempted to install Vista so I can see how my gmaes perform on my Rig with DX10....really tempting indeed, just hate the thought of all those "installs" n "updates"...ugghh!
DX10 doesn't give much "performance" increase as it gives more "eyecandy"
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2008, 01:27 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,794

My System Specs

Default

gotcha...figued as much,,,
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2008, 01:31 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Eyecandy is good. I like my games to look good.

Vista runs great. It's super fast for me. Maybe XP would theoretically run faster on my rig (and I question how noticeable it would be), but I'll stick with Vista.
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2008, 01:41 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

DX10 in its current form is a joke. A washout. A big fat performance killer with little quality gain. That's because game devs are not using it properly, really not at all. Because in order to do so they would have to write it from the ground up and have no dx9 compatibility. All they are doing is adding some fancier shaders and calling it dx10.

a native dx10 app would hold all objects in a 'geometry shader' something non existant in dx9. this is the true dx10 revolution as it allows all pixel calcs and shaders to be done in 1 pass, not 6 to 8 passes per pixel as dx9 has to do. When I first read about th dx10 and the geometry shader I was stoked beyond stoked at the possibilitys. Yet to see it happen, maybe windows 7 will be when someone does it right.

I'm currently benching Far Cry 2 in Xp and Vista, you can even run it in dx9 in Vista and so far it is another let down. dx10 runs like shit and I can not see one improvement in visuals.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2008, 01:48 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

I am not a huge fan of eye candy tbh.. infact I have my XP looking like Windows 2000, all effects turned off.. I still think XP Pro is superior to Vista, it is still buggy, annoying..

I also would prefer a bit of DOS in the OS, like XP is..

And yea DX10 is utter crap at the moment..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2008, 03:45 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,794

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Eyecandy is good. I like my games to look good.
I do as well and presently run full AF and AA in most games (Crysis being the exception of course)...
Thanks Miggs n Sqeets.....my "curiosity" has been "squashed"..hahahahaha...guess I'l continue to run my DX9 XP32 Bit for another........?.......
Cheers guys!
PS Sorry for misdirecting this Thread.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2008, 04:04 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Setting shadows to high kills the framerate, especially with aa on, prolly trying to aa the shadow edges at that point.

Here's my settings:

Everything very high but:
Shadows medium
Terrain, geometry and textures on Ultra high
2x aa
1920x1200

butter frikin smooth 40 -70 fps no problem on my overclocked 4850. Makes Crysis look like doom in my opinion, hated the blocky assed textures in Crysis.

Edit: And I'm not getting any screen tearing that I've noticed with vsync off. Amazing considering it hovers around 60fps.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2008, 04:09 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,794

My System Specs

Default

Sounds good, will be home in a week to try it out....hopefully the GTX 280 will be good as well!! Thnkas for the "heads-up" on the Shadows setting.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2008, 04:21 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

pfffft, your 280 will kill my 4850, prolly run everything ultra, shadows medium and 4xaa.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2008, 04:29 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,794

My System Specs

Default

Yep. looking forward to getting home n purchasing the game...you figure better graphics then Crysis?..wow, should be pretty impressive indeed, so long as it runs smoooth!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes