Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2008, 03:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2
Default Max upgrade for a Mac Quicksilver 500mhz?

Hey,

I have built an old G4 workstation up, and right now I have a 128MB video card in it, and I can't find what the capacity is for this computer. Does anyone know if it can handle a 256 or 512 card? If so, any suggestions of what to get or where to find them?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Granger24; October 20, 2008 at 10:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2008, 04:57 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,951

My System Specs

Default

Should be able to run any memory size video card, just find out what slot it uses (AGP or PCI). Though I have no idea about those Macs and I'm going to take a guess and say you are probably extremely limited to what you can put in it.

And it's definitely not 500GHz. No computer is that fast
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2008, 07:29 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,742

My System Specs

Default

There was no 500Mhz QuickSilver(QS), The QS line was 733, 800, 2x800, 867, 933, 2x1000 and had a system bus speed of 133Mhz. If your CPU is 500Mhz then it is running on a 100Mhz bus so that would make it either a Sawtooth or Gigabit Ethernet(GBE) model.
The Digital Audio(DA) also had a 133Mhz bus and it's stock CPUs were 466Mhz, 533Mhz, 2x533Mhz, 667Mhz and 733Mhz.
If you are running a QS or DA with a CPU from a Sawtooth or GBE then it will automatically run with the bus speed at 100Mhz so you do not have to manually push the multi down.

Before I can better answer your question though I really need to know what motherboard you have.
I can say this however:
Sawtooth - 2x AGP
Gigabit Ethernet - 2x AGP
Digital Audio - 4x AGP
QuickSilver - 4x AGP

The 2x AGP models max out at Radeon 9800, GF6200 and GF5200
The 4x AGP models max out at GF7800GS*, GF6800, GF6600, Radeon 800/850, FireGL x3.

* You need a card with a G70 core because the G71 core is too different and requires a different ROM(G71 is essentially a GF7900 sold as 7800)
The Mac Elite: Compatibility <- read this.

The reason you cannot toss any old card in is because Macs that use PowerPC CPU do not use the same BIOS as PCs, they use OpenFirmware(google it for more info). To make a gfx card from a PC work in a PPC Mac (or even an x86 Mac (They use EFI)) you need to flash an OpenFirmware compatible rom/bios to it(we Mac users call em ROMs instead of BIOSes). Thankfully Apple shipped some of these cards in Macs so most of the time you can just flash a different one to the card. Some PC cards have a smaller EEPROM than the Mac variants(32kb vs 64kb), so in those cases you either need a reduced ROM or you need to solder a bigger EEPROM onto the card.


As for CPU the max you are going to go with Sawtooth/GBE/DA/QS is single 2.0Ghz PPC 7448 or dual 1.8Ghz PPC 7447/7448
All the G4 towers listed above can take 3.3v 168pin 512MB SDRAM modules. I do not have the specifics on the RAM off the top of my head but just toss some old RAM from a previous PC build in and see if it works.



Now, as for better identing your computer if you are running Mac OS X go to the apple menu at the top left of the screen, click it and select "About this Mac" then in the window that pops up click the "More Info" button. Apple System Profiler should open and list the specifics of your hardware.
If you are running Mac OS 9 then just select "Apple System Profiler" from the apple menu.

If it has no operating system we can ident it via motherboard as well if you would like. I have most of the model specific differences for the first 5 G4 motherboards memorized. :P

Last edited by MacJunky; October 20, 2008 at 07:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2008, 04:03 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,742

My System Specs

Default

Thread Killer(me) strikes again?
Anyone have anything else helpful to say? Am I _really_ the only person here who knows anything about Apple's G4 towers?

So Granger24, do we get to know what you are going to do with your G4? Do we at least get a picture of it's innards?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2008, 04:08 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacJunky View Post
Thread Killer(me) strikes again?
Anyone have anything else helpful to say? Am I _really_ the only person here who knows anything about Apple's G4 towers?

So Granger24, do we get to know what you are going to do with your G4? Do we at least get a picture of it's innards?
Heh....

I missed your last post and am pretty well sitting here with my mouth agape at the full range of info you were able to provide. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes