Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2008, 03:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 20
Default Sapphire 4870 Open Gl issue

I want to play Medal of Honour Breakthrough
but once I start it up, the console loads at goes into game window, then it crashes
I can't find a soloution anywhere.

System Specs

Op's Vista 64bit SP1
Ram 4GB 1062 mhz Corsair Extreme
GPU Sapphire 4870 Catalyst ver. 8.10

I've tried re-installing the game and Catalyst


Can anyone help me?

__________________________________________________ ________________


SOLOUTION!!!!!

Please note the following is what i found. It worked for me and i was able to load multiplayer etc, I just tryed it for a few minutes I don't know if the game will crash at any point etc. But it's better then what Ati's offering.

Requirments

A little Tech know how

You will need to know how to use command line etc.
Search Engine, how to get around you hard drive.


Working on download
You can go through the following steps for yourself or download the file from this link

~~~~ PLEASE NOTE DOING EITHER IS AT YOUR OWN RISK!!! ~~~~~

This is my own website from many years ago so i mean it's going look pritty shady deal but whatever

If you feel it's to big risk just go through steps below





" The driver's reported OpenGL string is too long for the program's buffer to hold, hence overwriting stack memory and causing the crash.

nVidia implements application detection to work around the problem by clipping the OpenGL extension string, and I suspect ATi may have to do the same to fix the issue.

Steps to follow:

1] Download 8.6 drivers.

EDIT: Double click the ccc icon and it will copy all files to ati/support.

DON'T install. Click cancel when the installer appears. You will

only need 2 files from this older CCC. The rest is for the bin.

2] Go to the support map and navigate to atioglxx.dl_ and atioglx2.dl_.


__________________________________________________ ___________



** Edit From Ghost **

I could only personally find " atioglxx.dl_ " file and it worked for me

Go to C: Driver
then "ATI"
then "SUPPORT"

Select version 8.6 or what everone you you want for all i care (I don't know if it works for anyone)

For Xp users Use search engine on the Version 8.6 ..... type something close to atioglxx.dl_

For Vista open the version folder and use search engine

Vista Users Warning
For the following steps they did not work for me on Vista so I hooked up my Windows Xp Home and did the Operation on there.



__________________________________________________ ___________

3] Take out atioglxx.dl_ and atioglx2.dl_ and put them on c:\

Putting them on c:\ makes it easier to find/acces them in the next step.

4] Open a command prompt and type:

CD\

hit enter then type

expand c:\atioglxx.dl_ c:\atioglxx.dll

expand c:\atioglx2.dl_ c:\atioglx2.dll

Watch the spaces !

This will expand the files into dll's.

U will now see 2 files identical to the ones you placed there earlier, except that these new files are now recognized as dll's.

If you get a "can't read out put file"

type

attrib

If the atioglxx.dl_ has any letters written be side it go back to the files location right click and change security restrictions to full authority.

5] Next put these two files into your MOHAA map. This is the map where your exe is. DO NOT put it in mainta.(or anywhere else for that matter...)

Only the games in this mohaa map will use these new opengl dll's. This includes mohaa, mohaas and mohbt. Your other games will use dll's from cat 8.9., or whichever version u have installed.

6] Start the game. Voila.

*U can remove the 8.6 driver map cos u already got what u need out of that map.

*If the 8.6 dll's dont work, then try other versions and retry steps.

*I got two HD4870 so any1 with that card should follow this to the letter."


By Roscoe on AMD Forums

Link to Post
AMD Game Forums - Is 48X0 going to be compatible with MohAA?

Last edited by PPCLI; October 22, 2008 at 10:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2008, 04:47 PM
hausner's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 312

My System Specs

Default

Try older drivers maybe there is solution.
__________________
|::|CPU: i7 920 "D0"@?|::|MOBO: EVGA Classified|::|RAM: 6GB G.Skill Trident ddr3|::|GPU: BFG GTX 275|::|HDD: 2xSamsung F1 1TB|::|PSU: Ultra X3 1000W|::|Sound: Xonar DX|::|Powered by Heatkiller 3.0 LT/EK GTX275/EK Classified/Feser One X-360 TFC|::|Silverstone TJ 07
LCD: Samsung T260 25,5|::|Logitech Z5500
Project: Classified by Hausner - work in progress.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2008, 06:06 PM
CanadaRox's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Scarborough (Toronto)
Posts: 614
Default

I'd try the 8.7 version of the CCC as it seems like a there is an alarmingly large number of people having problems with the newer ones. And when you change drivers (or reinstall your current ones) make sure you uninstall, use a driver sweeper, then reboot and install.
__________________
Project: Black and White
i7 920 D0 | 3 x 2GB DDR3 | EVGA X58 SLI LE
XFX 4890 | Corsair HX750 | Corsair Obsidian
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2008, 09:24 PM
arekieh's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 819
Default

CS 1.6 (Open GL) runs fine with me with my Powercolor 4870. Im using Beta Cat .10's
__________________
Mobo: Asus P6T Deluxe | CPU: i7 940 | Ram: 3x2 GB | HSF: CM V8 | GPU: HD 6950 | PSU: PCP&C 750W | ]HDD: WD 500gb x3, 120GB Vertex 2 | Case: Antec 1200 | Monitor: 3x Asus VE247H | OS: Win7 Ultimate x64
My Trading Rep:
HWC
OCN
Heat
Ebay

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2008, 10:10 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 20
Default

I'll see what happens once I install an older version,

Thanks for you time
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2008, 12:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 20
Default

Well still no luck on older versions
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2008, 01:13 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Was the game originally installed with the 4870 present? Or did you install it originally with a different card? There might be some sort of ini in your my Documents folder that doesn't get deleted when you uninstall the game. I know BF2 could be a real pain because of that.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2008, 10:50 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 20
Default

It was a whole new build from the ground, up
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2008, 02:34 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,954

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_BenD_over View Post
Was the game originally installed with the 4870 present? Or did you install it originally with a different card? There might be some sort of ini in your my Documents folder that doesn't get deleted when you uninstall the game. I know BF2 could be a real pain because of that.
Yeah that has happened to me before with BF2. Grr.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2008, 10:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 20
Default

SOLOUTION!!!!!

Please note the following is what i found. It worked for me and i was able to load multiplayer etc, I just tryed it for a few minutes I don't know if the game will crash at any point etc. But it's better then what Ati's offering.

Requirments

A little Tech know how

You will need to know how to use command line etc.
Search Engine, how to get around you hard drive.


Working on download
You can go through the following steps for yourself or download the file from this link

~~~~ PLEASE NOTE DOING EITHER IS AT YOUR OWN RISK!!! ~~~~~

This is my own website from many years ago so i mean it's going look pritty shady deal but whatever

If you feel it's to big risk just go through steps below





" The driver's reported OpenGL string is too long for the program's buffer to hold, hence overwriting stack memory and causing the crash.

nVidia implements application detection to work around the problem by clipping the OpenGL extension string, and I suspect ATi may have to do the same to fix the issue.

Steps to follow:

1] Download 8.6 drivers.

EDIT: Double click the ccc icon and it will copy all files to ati/support.

DON'T install. Click cancel when the installer appears. You will

only need 2 files from this older CCC. The rest is for the bin.

2] Go to the support map and navigate to atioglxx.dl_ and atioglx2.dl_.


__________________________________________________ ___________



** Edit From Ghost **

I could only personally find " atioglxx.dl_ " file and it worked for me

Go to C: Driver
then "ATI"
then "SUPPORT"

Select version 8.6 or what everone you you want for all i care (I don't know if it works for anyone)

For Xp users Use search engine on the Version 8.6 ..... type something close to atioglxx.dl_

For Vista open the version folder and use search engine

Vista Users Warning
For the following steps they did not work for me on Vista so I hooked up my Windows Xp Home and did the Operation on there.



__________________________________________________ ___________

3] Take out atioglxx.dl_ and atioglx2.dl_ and put them on c:\

Putting them on c:\ makes it easier to find/acces them in the next step.

4] Open a command prompt and type:

CD\

hit enter then type

expand c:\atioglxx.dl_ c:\atioglxx.dll

expand c:\atioglx2.dl_ c:\atioglx2.dll

Watch the spaces !

This will expand the files into dll's.

U will now see 2 files identical to the ones you placed there earlier, except that these new files are now recognized as dll's.

If you get a "can't read out put file"

type

attrib

If the atioglxx.dl_ has any letters written be side it go back to the files location right click and change security restrictions to full authority.

5] Next put these two files into your MOHAA map. This is the map where your exe is. DO NOT put it in mainta.(or anywhere else for that matter...)

Only the games in this mohaa map will use these new opengl dll's. This includes mohaa, mohaas and mohbt. Your other games will use dll's from cat 8.9., or whichever version u have installed.

6] Start the game. Voila.

*U can remove the 8.6 driver map cos u already got what u need out of that map.

*If the 8.6 dll's dont work, then try other versions and retry steps.

*I got two HD4870 so any1 with that card should follow this to the letter."


By Roscoe on AMD Forums

Link to Post
AMD Game Forums - Is 48X0 going to be compatible with MohAA?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes