Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 12:43 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Yeah its odd....I know I was reading a Thread in another Forum (Iposted a Thred in the Rumours Section here - "Green Machine"...how nVidia seems to take one great card and "double it up" when they are between single Card debuts...whatever, hopefully the Red vs Green will continue for a long time...keep the technology guru's on their toes and the prices down!!!
I have to admit,,,when I saw those huge price cuts on the 9800GX2 from $600+ to $279...I was tempted...
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 12:47 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Also, I thought I saw somewhere here that the GX2 was discontinued or something..
Not yet, but I would guess when Nvidia introduces the "rumoured" GTX 270 / 290 / 350 or GX2 they will likely be discontinued by 1st Quarter 09 - see what happens at Xmas.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 12:53 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Infiniti...I noticed in your Sig it staes your E8400 died....?....what happened..?...was it OC'ing and Voltage? ust curious as you can see I have to push a fair bit of Voltage to mine to get it stable at 4.05Ghz...just curious...sorry for being off topic!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 12:55 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 60
Default

alright guys. thanks the input but I decided to switch over to ATi...only because they seem to update there driver every month or so.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 12:55 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infiniti View Post
Also, it would depends on the OP's number of monitors. If he has two, then it'll be pointless getting a GX2, as you can't enable SLI.

This its true, but there are a number of things you can do to get around it

If your runnings windows XP, you can use a program called Nview to double up the monitors to make one desktop across two screens, it works great and allows full screen gaming across two monitors, wich is great because the gx2 actually excels at high resolution gaming (though you'll have to put the monitors very close together so you get as little of the bar in the middle of the screen as you can.

If that doesnt work for you cause you hate the bar in the middle, or you have different sized monitors, you can still attatch two dvi monitors and one hdmi, then disable SLI in the nvidia control panel, wich no longer needs a reboot, when you want to run multiple monitors, then re enable them when you want to game.

or, if you have the cash, you can buy an el cheepo pci or usb vga card to run the monitors

there are still lots of options, but none of them are as simple as just having one card.
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 12:57 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xghostz View Post
alright guys. thanks the input but I decided to switch over to ATi...only because they seem to update there driver every month or so.
BLASPHEMER!

lol ah well, i hope your making an informed choice, lots of driver revisions doesnt always mean a good thing ;)
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 01:01 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 60
Default

This is what I have so far

CPU: E8400
Mobo: Asus PQ5 Pro crossfire
RAM: G.Skill 1000mhz 2x2GB
PSU: Corsair 650W
GPU: Diamond 4870
Others: Seagate 250GB, LG DVD writer, MX-2 thermal paste, OCZ Vendetta, Thermalright bolt thru kit, two blue led 120mm fans, Antec three hundred, Windows XP Home Premium edition 64bit OEM.

Now lets say I wanted to change the gpu to a Saphhire 4870X2, would that psu be enough? and would it fit in the antec three hundred? and what's the difference between Vista home basic and premium? basic is 50 bucks cheaper.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 01:03 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tzetsin View Post
BLASPHEMER!

lol ah well, i hope your making an informed choice, lots of driver revisions doesnt always mean a good thing ;)
lol it wasn't the only reason. GTX 260 was like 20-30 bucks more, and the EVGA 750i was 200 bucks.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 01:05 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tzetsin View Post
BLASPHEMER!

lol ah well, i hope your making an informed choice, lots of driver revisions doesnt always mean a good thing ;)

oh wait, you have two 9800GX2 in sli. how does Crysis run? I read about how 9800GX2s have stutters and doesnt really give a smooth gameplay.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 01:07 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xghostz View Post
oh wait, you have two 9800GX2 in sli. how does Crysis run? I read about how 9800GX2s have stutters and doesnt really give a smooth gameplay.
I honestly never even heard of stutters untill this thread. never experienced them either.
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes