Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2008, 10:39 PM
cwestwell's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NWT
Posts: 675
Default ATI CAT 8.9 Giant Pile of D1(|{5 ??????

Ok so I just upgraded my Cat Package last night to 8.9 thought I would see If it squeezed out any extra 3Dmark 06 Points well it did...but What the hell every single game I play now artifacts like mad...and I mean like mad.....first not to bad only a couple green dots here and there but by the time it done I cannot see 1/8 of the screen and my eyes hurt from the flickering.....I thought last night maybe it was heat so I messed around and yet still could play COD4 I thought maybe it was just that game so I tried Gears / RB6 Vegas / SUBCOM / and finally CIV 4 and WTF I couldnt even play CIV 4 so......I am wondering has anyone else expeirenced any of these issues..I have the Diamond Radeon 4870X2 set on standard clocks...it works fine on 8.6-8.8 but 8.9 is shite...
__________________
_______________________________________________

E8600 420x10 |Thermalright 120 Black | Maximus Formula | ATI 4870X2 | 4GB Buffalo FireStiX PC8500 | Corsair HX1000 | Lian Li V2010B | Vista Ultimate 64bit


Q6600 334x9 |Thermaltake Blu Orb | ASUS P5Q-PRO| ATI 2900XT | 6GB Corsair XMS2 PC6400 | Corsair HX520 | Lian Li V600B | Vista Home Premium 64bit

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 12:32 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Van Isle, BC
Posts: 550
Default

8.9 works fine on my HD 4870 ...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 07:58 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

No issues with at 8.9 on my Visiontek 4870X2 here. Running BF2, TF2, Oblivion and DoD:S regularly without problems.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 08:01 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,798

My System Specs

Default

Is your card overclocked at all, and did you have any kinds of custom fan settings?

I haven't tried the new cats, but my understanding is that they've finally included some form of fan speed control in them... that'd be where I look first.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 08:16 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

I'm still using two "custom" profiles to change my video card's fan speed settings. No issues...
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 08:25 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 343
Default

Have you tried the ol' uninstall/ reinstall routine? Driversweeper etc?
__________________
ASUS P5Q-E - E8400 (4GHz) - Corsair TX650W - 2xHIS HD 4850 IceQ Turbo - 2x2GB Mushkin Ascent 8000 - 2xWD 500GB - TRUE 120 - Antec 1200 - ASUS Xonar DX - Big Smile
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 08:38 AM
Iamcanadian7's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 251
Default

I had the same issue after I upgraded my 4870x2's to 8.9. However I had forgot to run driversweeper and after doing so I had no issues whatsoever.

Give that a shot, it usually fixes most driver issues.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 10:09 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Yep, common issue with these drivers...remove driver suing CCC isntaller, and when it asks about reboot, say no, go to device manager, uninstall the vgas(have it remove driver as well), and then reboot.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 05:54 PM
Dar_ell's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vaughan,Ontario
Posts: 501

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca View Post
Yep, common issue with these drivers...remove driver suing CCC isntaller, and when it asks about reboot, say no, go to device manager, uninstall the vgas(have it remove driver as well), and then reboot.

I never did those steps, i just uninstalled and reboot. No issues here though, expect the part where i crash every 1 hour in warhead, but whatever
__________________
"My brother is dead. He's not here Anymore. But on my back, and in my heart...He lives on in me. I will make a hole through heaven itself, even if that hole becomes my grave. As long as I break through, I will be victorious.Who the **** do you think I am?"
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 06:33 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

I as well had a problem in WarHead ctd about 1 hour into the game but the rest seem fine , running BIA Hells Highway and not a problem yet !
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes