Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2008, 08:10 PM
derrXIII's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 48
Default 4850 CF BSOD/Crashing Problem

AIGHT! soo well i dont really know if it is a hardware problem because it seems otherwise. my 4850's are setup in CF mode and when i turn on my computer, when i log on my user acount, it crashes[freezes] or BlueScreenz. "you graphics driver crashed blah blah". this also happens when i start games or in games. im running with my biostar i45. are the ati drivers to blame? how may i fix this.

ALSO this also happens with one card, two cardz no CF enabled, and i tried both cards in single just to make sure none of them were faulty.

anyhelp? :(
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.6GHz (400x9) | Biostar i45 | 4850 (700/2010) | G.Skill F2 PC2-8000 @ 800Mhz 2x2GB
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2008, 08:13 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,614

My System Specs

Default

What's your PSU, to drive a CF setup and a Q6600 @ 3.6? Also, is your oc really stable?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2008, 08:25 PM
derrXIII's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 48
Default

its not at 3.6 anymore. its currently at 2.4 till i get this problem fixed, and the GPU's are not oc'd at the moment. i have pc power and cooling 750w crossfire edition
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.6GHz (400x9) | Biostar i45 | 4850 (700/2010) | G.Skill F2 PC2-8000 @ 800Mhz 2x2GB
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2008, 05:02 AM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,923

My System Specs

Default

that is more then enough power. I had the gpu CCC crashing too but I just deleted the drivers completly and reinstalled and that problem went away. When installing drivers I also highly recommend turning off you anti virus and spyware protection
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2008, 06:16 AM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

What drivers do you have installed? If they are latest, try reverting back to the previous ones.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2008, 07:41 AM
derrXIII's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 48
Default

i tried catalyst 8.9 aand now im at 8.8, not blue screenin as mch but still doin alot.
note: the bluescrreen or freezes UASULY happens when i click on something like cpu-z, superPI, or some games. and IF the game loads, it crashes when its loading.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.6GHz (400x9) | Biostar i45 | 4850 (700/2010) | G.Skill F2 PC2-8000 @ 800Mhz 2x2GB

Last edited by derrXIII; October 10, 2008 at 07:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2008, 03:17 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,614

My System Specs

Default

The Quad may be stock, but it may need a slight bump in Vcore to the fully stable.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes