Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 10:56 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,122

My System Specs

Default benching 8800gtx

hi folks,trying to bench some cards
test rig:#1- Abit Ip35pro,8800gtx ACS3 Edition, q6600,4gb gskill-8000,...what can i expect from 3dmark,?
put parts together,on box..ran 3dmark and getting well over 15000,is that correct?
done no tweaks whatsoever not even set ram yet.

gonna try sli 8800gtx when i figure out what to expect from 3dmark.. 780i mobo arrived
test rig:#2-Evga-780i,2x8800gtx,e8400,4gb ocz nvidia sli-ready 8500-1066 ....
any ideas what results to expect?
maybe recommend SW for benching/adjusting 8800gtx
i have
GPU-Z.0.2.8
RivaTuner211
forceware_coolbits
AtiTools
3dMARK
ntune
and much more,where to begin tho

any help please
thanks all


ps:im a gpu n00b,, rjbarker what do yu use/recommend, almost same setup..
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"


Last edited by jay51; September 26, 2008 at 11:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 11:05 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Jay,
Thats a great Score on your first set-up with a single 8800GTX..really, I'm impressed! My 780i running a single 8800GTX with my E8400 OC'd to 3.8 Ghz was around 13,200 3DMarks (I think, may have been E8400 @ 3.6 Ghz...)
Got my new GTX 280 installed yesterday, runs warm, much like the old 8800GTX...74 celcius under Full Load Crysis.

PS I have now switched to using "Precision Tool" for OC'ing, I was using Riva Tuner prior though.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 11:13 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,122

My System Specs

Default

thanks for the boost 0f confidence there)
hmm, wonder why so high? maybe im doing something wrong, 92gb/s card is stock
no OC(dont know howYet)
this was other 8800 i benched btw, temp. where 49 idle never went over 60 under load...open air fans galore too..lol
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 11:24 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,141
Default

For 3dMark06 benching, the memory settings are pretty much meaningless. That quad-core is worth a lot of points over the dual-core, as well.

Personally, I'd suggest Rivatuner for overclocking the graphics card.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 11:26 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

I use EVGA Precision for OC my card. Its pretty darn good. Also, that card is a pretty high OC in stock form. Its a beast!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 11:27 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,122

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
For 3dMark06 benching, the memory settings are pretty much meaningless. That quad-core is worth a lot of points over the dual-core, as well.

Personally, I'd suggest Rivatuner for overclocking the graphics card.
ok,that explains it
wasn't sure

thanks
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 11:28 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Yep, thats the big difference between my 13.2 and yours Jay is the Quad Core, you're getting some high "CPU Points" compared to my E8400.


Quote:
Personally, I'd suggest Rivatuner for overclocking the graphics card.
Just curious,...why?...I found Riva Tuner to be great, however, I find precision to be a lot easier and user friendly and you can still set-up Profiles etc.. No offence, I used to use Riva until I started playing around with Precision.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 11:29 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,122

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
I use EVGA Precision for OC my card. Its pretty darn good. Also, that card is a pretty high OC in stock form. Its a beast!
me likes for sure
ill try what u used on it
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 11:30 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Its what I now use as well!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 11:31 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Very simple to set-up so that you can monitor :
1. Core Speed
2. FPS
3. Temps
onscreen while you're Benching.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes