Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 21, 2008, 07:46 PM
Allstar
F@H

Default Radeon X1650 Pro overheating

I wasn't sure if this should go in the cooling section or here... but here it goes:

I was playing unreal tournament 3 today (i don't play it too often), and it's the game on my system that most taxes my graphics card.

I was in the middle of playing when it minimized, and Catalyst Control Centre warned me that the graphics card had overheated--it had risen 'above a safe temperature.' I checked CPUID Hardware Monitor; the thing was at a blazing 110 Celsius! I checked with my finger against the plastic casing and nearly burnt my finger.

Now, i'm no expert on graphics cards, but there's no way it should be overheating so badly... The thing normally sits at 70C idle as well (way too high).

I've had the thing for a while now (over half a year maybe?) and my system is always on, so it mightve collected a bit of dust in the heatsink or something.

I cleaned dust off the fan recently, but I don't know how to get underneath the plastic casing to get off the heatsink.

Now, there is still airflow; the fan blows air through it and out the exhaust, but why isn't it keeping cool enough?

If i'm going to have to remove the casing and clean dust out of the HS.. please let me know how, as i don't want to mess this thing up. Until my new build is finished in a month from now, this thing needs to keep me alive
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Old September 21, 2008, 07:55 PM
F@H

My System Specs