Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 09:21 AM
Jon_di2's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
Default EVGA Step Up

Has anyone done the EVGA Step up? Since the website is in US dollars when you type in your "price paid" does it matter that your using canadian dollars? do they compensate in some way?

Just looking to see if anyone has done it and if it worked out. I'm looking to sttep up my video card. Thanks.
__________________
EVGA780i FTW|Q9450@3.3|2x2GB Mushkin Redline 8000|GTX 260 Core 216 65nm|Corsair TX750|Antec 900|Acer 22|Antec Multimedia Premier|WD 640GB|Seagate 500GB|Logitech G15|Vista64
EVGA790i FTW|E8400@4.1|4x1GB Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866|2xGTX 260 55nm|CM 750W| CM690|Viewsonic 25.5|Seagate 500GBx2|Logitech G5|Razer Lycosa|Scythe Kaze Master 5.25|Win7 & XP
Dell XPS M170|Pentium M @2.00|2GB DDR2 @667MHz|Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX|120GB|17" WUXGA|XP32
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 10:12 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

They just take it at par, they don't compensate in any way but you also don't lose out per se. So whatever you've spent on your card is what you get off the next card, be it in us or can funds.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 11:09 AM
Jon_di2's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp View Post
They just take it at par, they don't compensate in any way but you also don't lose out per se. So whatever you've spent on your card is what you get off the next card, be it in us or can funds.
Sweet considering the canadian dollar is lower I take that to be compensation. Most companies would covert it to US with a premium on the exchange rate.
__________________
EVGA780i FTW|Q9450@3.3|2x2GB Mushkin Redline 8000|GTX 260 Core 216 65nm|Corsair TX750|Antec 900|Acer 22|Antec Multimedia Premier|WD 640GB|Seagate 500GB|Logitech G15|Vista64
EVGA790i FTW|E8400@4.1|4x1GB Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866|2xGTX 260 55nm|CM 750W| CM690|Viewsonic 25.5|Seagate 500GBx2|Logitech G5|Razer Lycosa|Scythe Kaze Master 5.25|Win7 & XP
Dell XPS M170|Pentium M @2.00|2GB DDR2 @667MHz|Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX|120GB|17" WUXGA|XP32
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 01:16 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Nope! Not at all, they will get you to send in an invoice via email etc and if the dollar is crazy they will do some adjustment but as things stand right now they aren't bothering. :)

The amazing thing is, I could trade my Akimbo 8800GT in for 260 right now ahaha, I'm probably going to - just deciding on a new mobo etc, but getting 260.00 for a 8800GT is an amazing price lol.


BFG has a step up program but they revalue the card to what it's worth when you trade it in. So you'd get like 150.00 for an 8800 from BFG right now.

Warranty/Vendors are one of the main reasons I stay with Nvidia cards. I like that i can do anything/everything short of smash my card with a hammer and EVGA will take it back lol.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 04:24 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,635

My System Specs

Default

I'd like to see how the BFG step works as well.

I paid $99.99 ($69.99AR) for my BFG 9600GT OC. If I was to "Step Up" to say a 8800GT or GTX260, approximately how much would I have to pay? I've read their Step up page, but I don't know exactly how it works.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 10:43 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
They just take it at par, they don't compensate in any way but you also don't lose out per se. So whatever you've spent on your card is what you get off the next card, be it in us or can funds.
Not true, I'm considering Stepping up to GTX280 from GTX260 FTW and they convert CDN$369.99 to USD$344, perhaps now that their is 5-7 cents on the dollar they are now starting to do this.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 11:40 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 82
Default

When I stepped up, they only converted (from USD to CAD) after the difference that I was paying. If I remember correctly I only had to pay an extra dollar or so...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 11:44 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

When I did it they made no changes to the amount at all. I definitely ordered from NCIX and paid canadian currency so maybe its' dynamic and they adjust (i'd assume they do).
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 11:45 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
I'd like to see how the BFG step works as well.

I paid $99.99 ($69.99AR) for my BFG 9600GT OC. If I was to "Step Up" to say a 8800GT or GTX260, approximately how much would I have to pay? I've read their Step up page, but I don't know exactly how it works.

You'd get whatever that card is valued at right now. If it's still selling for 99 you should get in and around there.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2008, 11:03 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,047
Default

I did this recently.
You end up stating the price you paid and sending them an invoice. You select the card you want to upgrade to and you pay the difference of their listed price, not necessarily market price.

When you enter in the price you paid they treat it @ 1:1 meaning 1 CAD = 1 USD. The shittiest part of the deal is that you end up paying "more" for the base model card you upgrade to in the end. For example if you paid $200 for your current card and the card you are upgrading to is listed as $300 on their site but $230 on another site, you're paying $70 more by comparison because of it and you don't get to select Factory OC models.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes