Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2008, 12:42 AM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default p5q didn't boot from usb

i dont understand why bios only shows three options (floppy, hdd and cdrom)... i didn't installed cdrom nor floppy in my computer...

so i wonder how do you boot the computer from usb?

i heard that usb could be reading as floppy ( which i tried and not work)... i must be an idiot >_>
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2008, 01:04 AM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

never mind... found out by play with bios... i dont like boot bios...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2008, 01:17 AM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

ok i know how to open usb...

anyhow

Quote:
• The installation process for x64 Edition operating systems does not support MS-DOS based mechanisms. For example, you cannot install Windows XP Professional x64 Edition from a command prompt.

•The installation of the Windows x64 Edition-based operating system must be performed by starting the computer by using the Windows x64 Edition installation CD-ROM or by starting the installation from within another Windows 64-bit operating system.
$^#!@ you...

any idea how to install xp x64 from usb?


edit: okay i found good link at http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...usb-drive.html

i will continue work on it tomorrow... i still can't believe i wasted my time...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.

Last edited by CTA; September 1, 2008 at 02:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2008, 08:11 AM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 619

My System Specs

Default

I was not going to post anything in this thread and just wait and see if you kept answering your own questions CTA Kinda funny! I know it adds nothing to the thread but I need valid posts to up my level to get a better chance at that 260 GTX too.
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus P8Z77 : i7 3770k : Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600 : Corsair HX850W PSU : Corsair H100 : Corsair Obsidian 650D : eVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classy :
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : Sapphire HD 6670 : Nmedia HTPC 1000B : Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Netbook - Asus eee
Tablet - Asus eee Transformer
Wife's Rig - Lenovo Laptop
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2008, 08:26 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Theres a button called "Edit" please learn to use it instead of making a new thread for each response.

Why on earth are you wanting to install XP from a usb key? Just setup the usb key as a bootable dos disk with cdrom drivers and put the xp64 on a cd and install it that way.

Windows has been able to be installed from a dos prompt since windows 3.0 and still can upto Windows XP.

Not sure about Vista.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2008, 08:36 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

dwayne... spam!

enaberif... well look at time... and i want to get their attention... (and notice last post of mine)


yes i want usb to rule the world... because i dont install any cd device or floppy device... and can you please explain more clearly about set it (usb driver) as cdrom... how?

yes only 32bit OS can be installing on commend prompt...


and me too... i dont know about vista...



i will try to do this after dinner... i hope i will have succesfully result...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2008, 08:46 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

You need to learn about creating a usb bootable key and understand about autoexec.bat , config.sys , and mscdex
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2008, 09:05 PM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 619

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTA View Post
dwayne... spam!
I know CTA, but I couldn't resist I'll do some reading, but I don't quite understand the objective. You wish to boot your machine from a bootable device other than a floppy or CD, that I get. You don't want the machine to boot from the CD but you want to install the OS from the CD, right? What is the advantage of installing the OS in this manner?
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus P8Z77 : i7 3770k : Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600 : Corsair HX850W PSU : Corsair H100 : Corsair Obsidian 650D : eVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classy :
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : Sapphire HD 6670 : Nmedia HTPC 1000B : Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Netbook - Asus eee
Tablet - Asus eee Transformer
Wife's Rig - Lenovo Laptop
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2008, 09:36 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

enaberif... if you give the url of guide then it would be very appreciate...

dwayne... honestly... after install OS and i dont see any point to use cd... very very very rare time, i use it.. the internet and usb rule the world...

if i have legal cd then i will transfer it into usb on my mom's computer or someone... thats simple...

but when it comes to boot or dos or whatever it gives me hard time :\




ps. usb is 200x faster than cd-rom...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2008, 09:42 PM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 619

My System Specs

Default

I dunno CTA, the cost of a SATA Optical is so small compared to the whole cost of a system that it is odd not to add one.

Me, I like having my own software, actual hard copies of it. And I like hard backups when I move, just so I have my data. Guess I am old fashioned. I have ordered download software many times, but the first thing I do is burn it to a disc and print out the email with the codes so I have a hard copy of everything... like I said, old fashioned I guess.
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus P8Z77 : i7 3770k : Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600 : Corsair HX850W PSU : Corsair H100 : Corsair Obsidian 650D : eVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classy :
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : Sapphire HD 6670 : Nmedia HTPC 1000B : Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Netbook - Asus eee
Tablet - Asus eee Transformer
Wife's Rig - Lenovo Laptop
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes