Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2008, 09:49 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 105
Default weird CPU tempertures please help

hey guys my CPU is getting very abnormal temperatures.

I have no idea what is causing this
If you guy might know any sight hint as to what is happening or even how to fix this please lemmi know!!!

I have a QX9650
I used to run it with a zalman CSNP9700 cooler, and no matter how many time I reset it there there first and he second cores' temps are unsuslly high.

They were at 51C where as the third and the forth are at 45C
So I thought it could have been the cooler so I just bared with it for about a month.

But now I just got a. Coolit freezome elite
And the temp is still really weird

The first and he second are at 44C where as the third and he forth are at 32C

Reset be CPU block and still the samething
Is my CPu broken??

Or am I doing something wrong???

Also
Will lapping the cpu fix this problem??

Thancks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2008, 09:57 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

I've been getting weird temps on my CPU too. I can't check them right now, because my PSU won't provide enough power to my GPU, but they were idling at 40, even on stock clocks. Since I have the E8400, and you have the QX9650, and they are both 45nm, this might be a problem with some 45nm chips.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2008, 10:07 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

You are not alone, my quad has an 8 to 10 degree difference between the two sets of cores, why I have no clue...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2008, 10:40 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 105
Default

yeah can somebody please help?
is this because the CPU or the water block is not toally flat?

and also
isnt the freezone Elite supposed to gimmi 15C during Idle at full capacity?

SLYMTL do you know the solution?? :P
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2008, 10:51 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

welcome to the world of 45nm chips.. unpredictable.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2008, 10:55 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

It's not unusual to get different temperatures between cores on a quad-core, especially between core 0/1 and core 2/3. This is because of the chips' construction, which is basically two dual-cores placed side-by-side.

Even with a perfect mount, it's still easy to get differences, as the thermal material between the cores and the underside of IHS can vary, and there's really nothing you can do about that. Personally, a 6 degree difference at load is nothing to worry about.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2008, 07:24 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Of all 5 Quads (or various models) I had, only one had perfect temps both at idle and load. You have to live with that fact.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2008, 08:25 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 262

My System Specs

Default

If your eqipment has not been really stressed or physically damaged in any way....
As a suggestion,If you are running XP Pro, go to task manager, right click on each process and set the affinity to cores 3 and 4 on half the background programs you are running all the time. This should reduce the temperature spread difference bettween the core pairs. Experiment with the higher cpu load programs and let them run for 10 mins or so before deciding . Keep your gaming programs on 4 cores, chat windows and VON programs can easily be ran by a single core. There are programs available that allows you to set the default core assignments on most processes, Run First is one of them. Some windows processes are not adjustable. I have noticed the 1st core pair is generally the hottest. TAT is the tool that works the individual core pairs seperately so you can really see the differences.
__________________
Code:
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes