Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2008, 05:41 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Default Black screen !!! Need Help

Hi,
just recieved my new rig:
ASUS P5E3 Premium,
ASUS 4870X2 2GB,
Intel Q9550 12MB CPU,
2x2GB OCZ 1333 GOLD KIT,
Antec TP 1000 PSU,
ANTEC 900 Gaming CASE,
Zalman CNPS9700-LED
2x 500GB seagate HDD, 1 DVD RW,

Everything sounds verry good until the problem starts. I managed to boot (see something on screen ) just 1 from 10 restarts. I updated MB bios to ver 0505 and the problem is still here. At the begining i was thinking that is from the memory but now im not sure. What is really happen when i press start button: The PC is powered, all Fans are ok, all leds are OK, HDD and CD led shows activity - i'm on black screen. After multiple BIOS resets, removing memmory chips, removing video cards, changing power cable configuration and few restarts finaly i have something in my screen. Tried a lot of memmory configuration and all the time was the same. During one of the booting when i was abble to see my screen, i decided to install win XP. Everything was ok till setup reboot - again black screen, but my CD and HDD continue to work. Decided to wait untill led activite stops. Again after several restarts and removing of modules, without reseting BIOS this time, my screen show something. And it show completely instaled Win XP. I putted MB DVD and it says that will need 4 restarts to finish instalation. So i pressed YES and setup start to work. After few min Setup restart the PC and it was again on BLACK SCREEN, but HDD,CD continue to work. I was waiting and during Black Screen all the time, PC Restarts several time. Latter on, after several restats from my side again PC started with no Black screen, XP started verry fast, and i saw all MB drivers instaled. Then i instaled ATI drivers, and again black screen. After multiple restarts again and removing and puting parts again i saw picture.

ATI CCC shows: primarry video 4870x2 1024MB
secondary video 4870x2 1024MB disabled

Asus AI shows in one of optional screen for PCIe : BiosErrOptldx

All this was done without any overclocking, i was just trying to start my PC stable. Memtests was working for around 8h and no errors found. I tried all kind of cable setings using just antec ones and using convertors from Video card package, but the problem is still here. If anyone have some idea what can couse this, how to resolve it HELP, HELP!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2008, 09:12 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

There seems to be a few people having this same problem with the 4870x2. Try flashing your motherboard with the latest bios.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2008, 09:50 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

I'd put my money on a ram compatibity issue despite memtest coming up fine (happened to me with some OCZ ram on a Asus 690G based board - memtest would pass till the cows came home, XP, Vista and ubuntu would all crash horribly - swapped over to some Crucial, worked fine)
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2008, 10:07 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

His system isn't crashing at all. A black screen while his proggies are happily running away.

The first step to solving a problem is to properly identify the symptoms.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2008, 10:12 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

1) Move the graphics card into the second slot and if see if you still get the same issues.
2) Move your monitor cable into the other plug on the back of your gpu
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2008, 10:59 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

People are having this problem around the web. Bad or weak power supply, motherboard incompatibility or a bad card seem to be the faults.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2008, 11:23 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
People are having this problem around the web. Bad or weak power supply, motherboard incompatibility or a bad card seem to be the faults.
Yup and most times its incompatible to motherboards.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2008, 12:36 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Yea, we have confirmation from our very own SKYMTL on this issue.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2008, 12:54 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
His system isn't crashing at all. A black screen while his proggies are happily running away.

The first step to solving a problem is to properly identify the symptoms.

Ah so the resets are on purpose then.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2008, 04:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Hmm, i changed slots, its still the same. Found one GF6600 and tried it, and its still the same blackscreen. So for me its not the video card. And not the PSU (its from my old build - AMD6400X2, 4x1GB Corsair DDR2 800, ASUS 8800GTS 640MB, Asus Crosshire)
Wondering is it possible problems to come from CPU!
I decided to return that OCZ and to order 4x1GB Corsair 1333. It will take some time till replacement is done. If this didnt solve the problem maybe the MB is wrong at all.
I already recieve info from friend of mine who have same MB, 2x2GB Corsair and 4870 not X2. He says rhat everything is ok with him.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes