Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2008, 09:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Victoria B.C.
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default Brand New Computer Underperforming Horribly.

Hi,

I just built this new computer and it under performs horribly. I downloaded 3dmark Vantage and got near 7000marks. Crysis is unplayable and never makes it over 17fps. All drivers are up to date.

Specs

AMD Phenom 9600 Quad Core 2.3ghz
M2N-SLI
8gb 800mhz DDR 2 Kingston Ram
Nvidia 280gtx 1gb
500gb HD
650w PSU
Vista Home Premium 64 bit

Any Idea's why this is happening would be greatly appreciated.

I downloaded and ran CPU-z to see if anything was messed up, Ill post a screen of it.

[img=http://img53.imageshack.us/img53/8735/1strg8.th.jpg]

[img=http://img53.imageshack.us/img53/5365/2nday9.th.jpg]

Last edited by inf3kt; August 25, 2008 at 09:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2008, 10:04 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

have you taken a look at what kind of processes your running on taskmanager? is there anything running at 100%?

try downloading sisoft's sandra lite and doing individual tests on your cpu and ram.

Try downloading the beta version of the nvidia driver, i've had some pretty weird experiences with the nvidia drivers to date with my GX2s (make sure you driversweeper your old driver out first)
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2008, 10:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Victoria B.C.
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default

Where would I find the beta drivers? Nvidia Website?

The only thing in the Processes thats running close to 100% is System Idle Process. Not sure if thats normal.

thanks for the quick reply
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2008, 10:16 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

yep system idle process is always whatever is remaining from the other processes NVIDIA Driver Downloads - Advanced Search on the last dropdown choose beta, you should see version 177.79
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2008, 10:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Victoria B.C.
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default

Which Benchmarks should I do with SISSandra?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2008, 10:21 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

cpu and memory
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2008, 10:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Victoria B.C.
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default

So I ran CPU Arthimetic Test and it came in 5th place. And I ran the Memory Bandwidth and it came in third place.

I have never done this before so I hope that makes sense.

Also after I installed those drivers for the vid card my fps now doesn't go above 10.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2008, 10:48 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

what were the numbers?
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2008, 10:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Victoria B.C.
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default

Ram
8054mb/s
8015mb/s

CPU
25600MFLOPS
32610MIPS
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2008, 11:11 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

safe to say that your cpu and mem are running in spec, have you tried the driver yet?
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes