Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2008, 10:39 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default A call for help to fellow forum Ubuntu users

ok, here is the rig
evga 780 ftw mobo
Q9450
4 X 1gb Crucial balistix
2 x 8800 GTS sli
3 x wd raptor 150 raid 0
antec truepower quatro 850w psu
Samsung syncmaster 2243bwx

ok, im not sure how to explain the problem... ive installed hardy haron ubuntu, when i have not installed the nvidia drivers yet, it detects my display as samsung and i can change resolutions fine. I can even run X plane, though obviously it doesnt work well because i have no video card drivers installed.

When i install the display drivers i can no longer change the resolution of my display and i get this error

"The X Server does not support the XRandR extension. Runtime resolution changes to the display size are not available."

after getting this error i can no longer run any games that want to change the resolution of the screen.

i've searched google all over the place and ive seen this error come up in a few places, but nobody really had an answer to fix it

what ive tried so far...
uninstalled all nvidia driver related files,
tried using Nvidia-glx, Nvidia-glx-new, Linux restricted drivers modules and Envy. (uninstalling each before trying the next)
i also tried the driver from the nvidia website by installing it from shell, that didnt work either
something to note, the driver "seems" to be working, i mean i can use my 3d desktop, but it seems that anything that wants to change the res of the monitor is SOL becuase of that XRandR extension BS.

I tried using Nvidia x server settings, but when i try and run the utility i get this error

"You do not appear to be using the NVIDIA X driver. Please edit your X configuration file (just run `nvidia-xconfig` as root), and restart the X server. "

I've been messing with this for 3 days, hours and hours each day, its time to reach out.

what say you guys? any ideas? is anyone else using the 8800gts with linux that can confirm if its cuaseing the problem?
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2008, 12:40 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Did you manually install the nvidia drivers or use the restricted driver tool on ubuntu?
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2008, 12:56 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

the first time i used the restricted driver tool, that didnt work, so i tried envy, then the restricted driver tool thinger disapeared... i havnt seen it since so i cant use THAT anymore lol... i dled the driver from the nvidia website then rebooted into the recovery console, and installed it from there, that didnt work either. right now im without a driver at all, and i can change resolutions. when i install a driver for it i cant. but the driver works, i have 3d acceleration, but my games want to adjust the res, but fail, because it wont. so i cant play any games, but my compiz cube works perfect. and games that dont need to have the res adjusted work too.
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2008, 01:38 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

ok did you download the beta nvidia driver from their site?
did it properly update the /etc/XF86Config file and change the display driver? should be "nv" not "nvidia"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2008, 01:47 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

the driver is version 173.14.12-pkg1 i looked in the ect file for xf86config and i dont have a file such as that, i did a search for it and found only a file xf86config/sample at /user/share/doc/nvidia_glx-1.0
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2008, 01:51 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

this is a copy of my xorg.config file atm... i have about 150 backups of it lol

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder57) Thu Jul 17 18:39:19 PDT 2008

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# generated from default
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "Unknown"
HorizSync 30.0 - 110.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 150.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2008, 01:57 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

yah switch out where you see nvidia for nv instead and lemme know.

Driver "nvidia" = Driver "nv"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2008, 02:01 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

ok, changed to nv and restarted xserver, i can now change my res, but the graphix acceleration is off now.
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2008, 02:02 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

drop to console and do a => lsmod
see if you see anything like nvidia or nv in there
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2008, 02:04 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

=> lsmod gives me bash:=command not found
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes