Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2008, 01:09 AM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default Updating BIOS on GA-EP45-DS3L failed, how to access back up BIOS?

This board supports dual bios, so wondering how could i access that second bios so i don't have to RMA the board.

Edit: Woops posted in wrong section without looking, Please move to troubleshoooting if that's the right section. Sorry about that, kinda late so i think i should get some sleep.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2008, 02:47 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,103

My System Specs

Default

Did you clear cmos after flash? My Giga-byte board would never boot after a flash unless I did.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2008, 03:23 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,708
Default

It is supposed to automatically revert if there is a bad BIOS flash.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2008, 04:17 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

It's odd... I tried to flash my the BIOS on my new GA-EP35-DS3L yesterday through @BIOS, which failed. Then I tried through Qflash (in-BIOS software) which failed too. Took a full CMOS reset before the board could recongnize the USB key I was using for the flash...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2008, 04:21 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

I use ASUS boards and never had to clear my CMOS after a bios flash - What I do after flashing is enter the bios, load defaults, save and re-configure bios again.

As far as the dual bios and crash free bios, it seems that more often than not, they are useless - I know cases of people flashing their bios and it failed, and the crashfree didn't take over to recover.

Try clearing the CMOS, if that doesn't work, consult your manual for the procedure - (moving of jumper, hotkey, etc.)

Also if your flasher fails to properly flash the bios all the time, you may have a bad EEPROM - this happened to me on an ASUS board years ago.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2008, 06:31 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 343
Default

Did you load the fail safe defaults after the flash?
__________________
ASUS P5Q-E - E8400 (4GHz) - Corsair TX650W - 2xHIS HD 4850 IceQ Turbo - 2x2GB Mushkin Ascent 8000 - 2xWD 500GB - TRUE 120 - Antec 1200 - ASUS Xonar DX - Big Smile
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes