Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2008, 11:06 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 128

My System Specs

Default weird -12v and -5v reading

Hi, I am mostly a lurker here.

I built a rig about 3 months ago with the following specs:

m3m32mvpwifideluxe mobo
asus3870x2
antec 1000w
corsair 1066 dominators.
amd9850be
vista64

For some reason I have a strange reading (which I've just noticed, yes I am an idiot) where my -5v and -12v are just no where near where they should be. I was wondering if there was any other way to check those voltages. And if these numbers are correct, what am I doing wrong? :help:

A little history on my rig:
I had the bsod (clock interrupt was not received on a secondary processor within the allocated time interval) constantly. I sent the processor back to amd. They said nothing was wrong...which I still don't believe...and sent it back to me. So I figured that the motherboard was the problem(lots of people were having the same problem with that board and quad cores) and swapped it with a dfi lanparty ut 790fx-m2r (I should have gotten the cheaper m2rs) but still had the same problem. Then I underclocked the processor to 2.4Mhz which helped out a lot but I still crash and bsod on average 1-2times a day. Overclocking is totally unstable. Uping the voltage doesn't help either. Maybe the bsods and no overclocking potential is because of the voltages?
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2008, 11:29 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,573
Default

there not used.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2008, 12:13 AM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
there not used.
That's what i thought too.. i always disable -voltages in monitoring apps, as well as VSB/VBAT.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2008, 10:49 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

They are not used now - The -12V was used on serial port circuits and -5V for ISA bus based circuits and floppy controlers, you should just ignore those - and btw, your other voltages look good so no problem. Just set them to ignore and only monitor the 3.3v, 12V and 5V
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2008, 12:13 PM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,356

My System Specs

Default

We need a "that was easy" button just like Staples. Welcome aboard wesamess!

__________________
Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 - Intel i5 2550K @ 3.4 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x4 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 1600 - EVGA GTX560 Ti
1x120 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Corsair TX650 - 22" Hanns-G - Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1



The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!

Last edited by misterlarry; August 2, 2008 at 12:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2008, 06:27 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Yes that was an easy one - But I remember too being curious about the -12V and -5V back in the days !
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes