Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 08:09 PM
Computergeek's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 148

My System Specs

Default fan controller help

hello,

i just bought a
Scythe Kaze Master 5.25IN Bay Fan Controller from ncix and i installed it and when it starts up there is this loud constant beep that never goes a way and it displays something when it starts up but then goes blank...any help would be great

thanks compgeek
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 08:16 PM
Computergeek's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 148

My System Specs

Default

now it doesn't display anything but the fan controller is working the fan are slowing when i turn the knob
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 08:20 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,996

My System Specs

Default

It's possible your system is reacting to the lack of a detectable CPU fan RPMs. Try reconnecting the cpu fan to the motherboard, post the system, go into bios then disable any RPM monitoring on the board. Then, plug the fan back into the Scythe and see how it works. Let us know!
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 08:22 PM
Computergeek's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 148

My System Specs

Default

i don't have the cpu fan plugged into the fan controller
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 08:24 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,996

My System Specs

Default

So what is plugged into the controller? You can always do a "trial and error" test and just start putting things back to where they were before you had the Scythe.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 08:27 PM
Computergeek's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 148

My System Specs

Default

i did that i got 2 new antech tricool 12cm fan with the controller and installed them...and everything else is the same
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 08:28 PM
Computergeek's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 148

My System Specs

Default

its weird that it displayed something on the first startup after the install but haven't got anything since
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 08:29 PM
calvary1980's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 73
Default

check the manual. the beeping is a warning. did you setup the sensors correctly? what does the temp say?

- Christine
__________________
Cooler Master RC-690 | Thermaltake Toughpower 1000W | 6x Scythe S-Flex SFF21F Fans, EK-MultiOption 2 Port, dB-1 Compact, Swiftech MCR80, Swiftech Apogee GT | Abit IP35-Pro | Intel Q6600 @ 3.8Ghz | 2x1GB OCZ Flex XLC PC-9200 | Inno3D Geforce 8800 GTS 320MB
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 08:29 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,996

My System Specs

Default

Well first get your system running again, unplug everything from the controller and get your system to Post.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 08:34 PM
Computergeek's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 148

My System Specs

Default

The system is posting when the fan controller connected...the fan controller is turning my fans up and down....its just not displaying anything the screen of the fan controller
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes