Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2008, 10:03 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 21
Default possibly a dead mobo

Hello,

I think something in my mobo just died today. my rig is not even 3 months old.

I was playing COD4 when my external USB hard drive that I was playing music from was disconnected. Two minutes later the monitors lose the signal and seems that the pc was shut down. When I try to turn it back on, the power LED stays off, the HDD LED blink once and stays off.. all the fans and hardware signals [dvd rom led blinks as usual] seem normal except nothing is responsive.. monitors dont have signals and no sounds to indicate the OS is on... If i try to hold the power button to shut it down, it just restarts with the same symptoms.

I think its the mobo or the video card. sometimes when I switch vga cables [which I do often] the pc freezes.. but it might not be related to the problem and a quick reboot fixes it.

Here are the parts:

- Q6600
- Evga Nforce 780i mobo
- Evga 8800GT
- corsair 620W PSU
- Vista ultimate 64-bit and XP pro 32-bit [dual boot]

I don't think COD4 was stressing the system, although I've been doing a lot of intensive 3D work that involve the graphics card for the last few days...

I'd really appreciate any advice you can give me,
Thanks a lot!
__________________
Psycho-Designs.com
Desktop: Q6600, Evga Nforce 780i, MSA GTX 660Ti 3GB, 8GB DDR2 OCZ Platinum.
Laptop: Sager 8660: 15.4" 1680x1050 screen, P9500, GeForce 9800M GT, 4GB DDR3.

Last edited by Psycho-Designs; July 22, 2008 at 10:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2008, 10:21 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 443

My System Specs

Default

whats your ram and it could be over heating issues, but if it was that the system would most likely turn back on unless your bios is set to not let u, try if its not a pain for u resetting the CMOS.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2008, 10:35 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 21
Default

the ram is ocZ 4GB [2x2048MB]... I forgot to mention that I'm a noob.. not sure if I know how to reset the CMOS or if I should attempt it..
__________________
Psycho-Designs.com
Desktop: Q6600, Evga Nforce 780i, MSA GTX 660Ti 3GB, 8GB DDR2 OCZ Platinum.
Laptop: Sager 8660: 15.4" 1680x1050 screen, P9500, GeForce 9800M GT, 4GB DDR3.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 12:19 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 21
Default

I've tried few more things :
disconnect the GPU and all HDDs and dvd drives.. nothing changes.. no beeps or any feedback.. the LED display says "FF" as always [even before the problem]

resseting the CMOS did not change anything..

I also tried this Steps to "--" and C1 error recovery.
until step 11 when I boot.. same problem
__________________
Psycho-Designs.com
Desktop: Q6600, Evga Nforce 780i, MSA GTX 660Ti 3GB, 8GB DDR2 OCZ Platinum.
Laptop: Sager 8660: 15.4" 1680x1050 screen, P9500, GeForce 9800M GT, 4GB DDR3.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 05:44 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,927

My System Specs

Default

Contact EVGA and see what they have to say. Their support is basically the best you're going to get.

Not sure what the fail rate is on the 780i, but I know lots of 680i's failed and the 780i is similar to it so it could have the same issues.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 07:09 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,640

My System Specs

Default

You can try this stuff.... 10 Step "No Post" BIOS Recovery Guide

CMos reset is the first thing you should try. It's a simple as moving a jumper from one set of pins to another set of pins. Your motherboard manual will tell you which pins to jump.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 09:19 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

And this happened shortly after your USB cable got disconnected ? Did you trip on it ? It's not impossible to actually cause a short on these boards....or it's just a fluke and your board failed.

When you look at your motherboard, do you notice anything burnt or a bulging or bad capacitor ?

Try this - Try shutting down, with the power off switch AND your PSU's I/O switch, set to off and leave it so for about 30 minutes. Try again - you know there are cases where some hardware works again on its own - If you tried the CMOS reset, board visual inspection, swapping graphics card / RAM etc, then I'd say you have a dead board. No POST beeps and a dead display is not a good sign....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes