Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2008, 11:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 11
Exclamation New rebuild, OS stuttering

Hello everyone, I recently completed a rebuild of my system after buying some new parts. I also moved from 32-bit to 64-but Vista to accommodate the upgrade to 4 GB of RAM. My problem is this: anytime the CPU is under load, the entire system stutters/skips until the CPU usage goes back down. It seems to happen whenever the CPU usage goes above approximately 25-30%. Most noticeable is that the mouse jumps all over the screen as I move it rather than going smoothly across the screen. Also, if I am watching a video in VLC, the sound and picture will skip. I haven't tested any games, but I think its fair to assume I would see the same problem there. It happens when opening programs, such as Firefox, when moving files around, pretty much any time the CPU is used. Here are my specs:

Asus P5K mobo (Intel P35, newly installed)
Core 2 Duo E6420 (not overclocked)
4 GB Mushkin XP PC2-8500 (DDR2 1066, newly installed)
WD 120GB (boot drive)
Seagate 500GB
EVGA GeForce 8800 GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer
Corsair HX520W PSU
Vista Home Premium x64

I have the latest versions of all the drivers, all windows updates installed.
Troubleshooting already attempted:
-updated BIOS to latest version
-remove/reinstall nvidia drivers (the problem continued even when the generic vga drivers were active)
-removed sound card, no change

I don't know what to try next, short of reinstalling windows on the other hard drive, as I suspect it could be a HD problem (the jumps in CPU usage tend to coincide with hard drive access).
I didn't have any problems remotely like this before the rebuild.
Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 02:13 AM
tomek's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 44
Default

Are your drives PATA by chance, and are you using a Jmicron controller?
__________________
Q6600 Lap'd @ 3.7 || Ultra-120 Extrm Lap'd || 4 x 2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 @ 822 || Gigabyte EP45-UD3P || 2 x 4870 Crossfire || Thermaltake VA8003BWS || RAID 0 (2x150GB Raptor) + RAID 1 (2x2TB Green) || Seasonic X760 Gold 750watt || Dell 24" Wide || RME Fireface 400 ||Tannoy Reveal Active 2.1 || G25 Racing || MX 3100 Keyboard / Mouse
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 11:26 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 11
Default

Yes, the drives are both PATA. My motherboard has an onboard Jmicron JMB363 SATA controller.... could that be the issue?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 11:33 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 11
Default

I just checked, and the drivers for the Jmicron controller are up to date according to the asus web site.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 11:56 AM
Mibs's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. John's, NL
Posts: 311
Default

Which of the parts are new? Because it is an upgrade and you didn't see the problem before, we can assume the problem is with one of the new pieces of hardware.
__________________
Intel C2D E6750 @ 3.52 GHz // EVGA 680i SLI Rev. A1 (P31) // 4 GB OCZ Platinum 800 MHz 4-4-4-15 // PC P&C Silencer 750 Quad // Antec P180 // EVGA 8800 GTS 512 // Samsung Syncmaster 226bw 22" LCD

WC Loop: D-Tek Fuzion V2 // Danger Den Maze 5 // Swiftech MCP655 // Swiftech MicroRes // Thermochill PA 120.2 + 4 x Noctua NF-P12
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 12:00 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,831
Default

Looks like Tomek found something. Maybe a known issue with the jmicron vista drivers.

I have a p5k premuim and run the intel ich8 raid/sata controller, not the jmicron. It's disabled in the bios.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 12:19 PM
tomek's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 44
Default

I've gone through three board w/ Jmicron PATA.
None of them worked properly.. Different levels of compatibility depending on the drive.

It's likely you'll need to get a SATA drive for that board. Sorry.

-edit
Or if you're on the broke, perhaps try using some PATA to SATA adapters,
and use the ICH8 controller, which is awesome btw!
__________________
Q6600 Lap'd @ 3.7 || Ultra-120 Extrm Lap'd || 4 x 2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 @ 822 || Gigabyte EP45-UD3P || 2 x 4870 Crossfire || Thermaltake VA8003BWS || RAID 0 (2x150GB Raptor) + RAID 1 (2x2TB Green) || Seasonic X760 Gold 750watt || Dell 24" Wide || RME Fireface 400 ||Tannoy Reveal Active 2.1 || G25 Racing || MX 3100 Keyboard / Mouse
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 12:20 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
Looks like Tomek found something. Maybe a known issue with the jmicron vista drivers.

I have a p5k premuim and run the intel ich8 raid/sata controller, not the jmicron. It's disabled in the bios.
jmicron was fine for my P5K-E wifi, it should be performing better.

Can you try another OS install?
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 12:22 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomek View Post
I've gone though three board w/ Jmicron PATA.
None of them worked properly..

It's likely you'll need to get a SATA drive for that board.
Sorry.
If you're in ottawa I can lend you an IDE to sata adapter to test
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2008, 12:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks for the help everyone. If there's an inherent problem with the Jmicron controller, why is it even on the motherboard? If I had known I wasn't going to be able to use my PATA drives I would have looked at different motherboards. Cheator: I'm in Victoria, BC, but thanks anyways. I might have an adapter kicking around somewhere.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomek View Post
I've gone through three board w/ Jmicron PATA.
Or if you're on the broke, perhaps try using some PATA to SATA adapters,
and use the ICH8 controller, which is awesome btw!
Do the different coloured SATA ports on the mobo use different controllers?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes