Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2008, 12:20 AM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,157
Default 1080p

Hello, I recently made a HTPC with an amd 4800+ and an asus 3450 GPU. When i try to play 1080p movies the video just skips , and freezes for 5 seconds on each frame.. the audio is fine. DO you have any suggestions? I do not mind too much if i NEED to buy new parts.. like a q6600 or something.
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2008, 12:48 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,755
Default

HMMMM..... It should handle 1080p no problem. What Media player are you using? Go into task manager, how much CPU/pagefile usage?
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2008, 01:04 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,105

My System Specs

Default

What player are you using? And what codecs? Do not use VLC for MKVs, its codec is awful for it. If you are using a 32-bit OS (and software), I suggest downloading CoreAVC (it isn't free) as it is definitely the best h264 decoder out there. If you want something free get either the Klite codec/Vista codec set and use Windows Media Classic.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2008, 02:18 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

you could also try CCCP for free codecs.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2008, 03:11 PM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

Be careful when downloading codecs. Many viruses masquerade as codecs. The major distributions are generally pretty safe.

That gear should be fine to crunch 1080p video. What is your 1080p source? Do you have Blue-Ray? Have you tried some of the HD trailers from the Apple site?
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2008, 07:59 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,157
Default

where do i find these codecs? I do not have bluray. I downloaded one topgear episode, for an hour, its 7 gb. Its weird, cause i use VLC media player on my gaming PC, and it plays fine.
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2008, 09:11 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,105

My System Specs

Default

Free-Codecs.com : Download K-Lite Codec Pack 3.9.5 FULL, K-Lite Codec Pack 3.9.0 STANDARD, K-Lite Codec Pack 3.9.0 BASIC : K-Lite Codec Pack is a collection of codecs and related tools
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2008, 12:00 AM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,157
Default

ahh thanks a lot :) lets hope it works! :D
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes