Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2007, 03:32 AM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LookAQuesadilla View Post
Wow, that's great! My Athlon system was nice about a year and half ago, but it needs a boost like that. :)

*bookmarks that page* (hopefully will order soon)
Imo your other machine as a whole would be a bottleneck for the 7900 but your Amd machine would get a real nice boost from that card
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2007, 07:36 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LookAQuesadilla View Post
Thanks guys. :)

The 6600 GT's clock speeds are above those of the GS, but it having half the pipelines (and memory) cause it to drag behind, I think.

Yeah, it's certainly not a great machine. I'll start with the 512megabytes of RAM, and I hope that helps.

Once again, Thanks!

PS: I was also thinking about upgrading the video card in one machine, If it were you, which of the following would you buy:

1 7600GT (higher clock speed)
or
1 7900 GS KO (more memory bandwitdh, 8 more pixel pipelines)
%12 of ram playing BF2/BF2142 is well painfull, I know I ran 512 playing these games. A extra 512 will do wonders for your FPS in both games, expesceally the larger maps.
For your main rig I'd go with the 7900gs it's got 8 more PP.
Plus it's evga so if you want to step it up later you can.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2007, 07:47 AM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

Tried your 2142 server last nite Supergroverand it was fun Will be playing there again
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2007, 09:32 AM
Shadowed's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 238
Default

Something to keep in mind is adding a 7900 video card would probably require a power supply upgrade as well. :(
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2007, 09:16 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Default

Put those Hard Drives into Raid 0 to get the most you can from the 5200 rpm.s
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes