Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2008, 07:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Default System won't boot with an XFX GTX 280

Replaced my 8800 GTX with a 280 - no go. The CPU fan and the case fans won't even spin when both the 6-pin and the 8-pin connectors are plugged into the 280. Wattage should be no problem - my power supply is a Seasonic S12 600 Watts, the CPU is a E6600 @3.4, only 2x1GB RAM at default voltage, 4x harddrives and a DVD burner. From my research, the PSU should have no trouble driving such and even higher system (never had any problems while running the computer with the 8800 GTX).

The funny thing is that when I tried to boot up without the 8-pin connector plugged in (just for shitz and giggles), the CPU and the case fans come to life, but of course the system never fully boots, so I suspect either the 8-pin EPS is not working properly. Or the 280 could be DOA.

Any thoughts/suggestions/insights would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2008, 07:33 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

According to nVidia's website the minimum system power requirement is a 550watt powersupply I am going to go out on a limb and say that your powersupply is the problem here only because you are overclocking and I don't think it fits the bill for such a highend GPU.

Honestly I believe SKYMTL would be better able to assist you since he's personally has one and would know what type of powersupply would be best for the GTX280. Your best bet if you can get a hand on a more powerful powersupply would be to test it against it.

Does the fan spin on the video card at all when you boot the system?
Is there any beep codes that you recieve that might indicate a gpu problem?
Have you tried booting the system at stock settings?

EE

Last edited by Eagle Eye; June 19, 2008 at 08:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2008, 03:25 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Default

WHen both power connectors are plugged into the videocard - no fans spin, no POST beeps, pretty much nothing happens, although the green LED on the mobo is lit indicating it's getting power. I've tried downclocking the CPU/RAM to stock, disconnected the harddrives - no effect.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2008, 08:15 AM
Cardboard box with DSL's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 170
Default

The card alone draws over 200W idle and close to 400W on load, if google is to be trusted. I bet its a power issue, the card is trying to draw enough wattage for its self, and not leaving enough power for the rest of the system.
You might need to grab a more powerful powersupply to power both your system and the card, but dont just take my word for it. Hopefully SKYMTL finds this thread soon and we'll see what he has to say.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2008, 08:47 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Igor01 View Post
Replaced my 8800 GTX with a 280 - no go. The CPU fan and the case fans won't even spin when both the 6-pin and the 8-pin connectors are plugged into the 280. Wattage should be no problem - my power supply is a Seasonic S12 600 Watts, the CPU is a E6600 @3.4, only 2x1GB RAM at default voltage, 4x harddrives and a DVD burner. From my research, the PSU should have no trouble driving such and even higher system (never had any problems while running the computer with the 8800 GTX).

The funny thing is that when I tried to boot up without the 8-pin connector plugged in (just for shitz and giggles), the CPU and the case fans come to life, but of course the system never fully boots, so I suspect either the 8-pin EPS is not working properly. Or the 280 could be DOA.

Any thoughts/suggestions/insights would be appreciated.
You need a new power supply.

Just because its a 600w doesn't mean thats its 600w. Most power supplies put their "peak" and not their normal usage.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2008, 09:06 AM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cardboard box with DSL View Post
The card alone draws over 200W idle and close to 400W on load, if google is to be trusted. I bet its a power issue, the card is trying to draw enough wattage for its self, and not leaving enough power for the rest of the system.
You might need to grab a more powerful powersupply to power both your system and the card, but dont just take my word for it. Hopefully SKYMTL finds this thread soon and we'll see what he has to say.
Thatís the whole system, not just the 280.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2008, 09:46 AM
Cardboard box with DSL's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 170
Default

I should have noticed that...

Did your PSU come with standard 8-pin PCI-E connectors? Or are you using a molex to 8-pin converter?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2008, 09:51 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
You need a new power supply.

Just because its a 600w doesn't mean thats its 600w. Most power supplies put their "peak" and not their normal usage.
This is seasonic we're talkign about, some of the best and most efficient PSUs on the market.

I suspect, however, that there is too much draw. These pull alot of amps, and with a dual rail system, you probably don't have enough amps to support it.However, can you try it in another system?
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2008, 12:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks for the help guys. Turns out what I thought was an 8-pin PCI-e connector was actually the 8-pin EPS line. I had no clue that my Seasonic does not have an 8P PCI-e connector at all. There is a way to convert a 6P connector to an 8P one with an adaptor but since it would still be be a 6P line with max output of 108W (216W total for the two connectors to be used on the GTX 280), I've instead opted for a new PSU that has four 6+2 combo connectors which will be enough to drive two GTX 280's if needed. Thanks again for all the suggestions.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2008, 12:54 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Igor01 View Post
Thanks for the help guys. Turns out what I thought was an 8-pin PCI-e connector was actually the 8-pin EPS line. I had no clue that my Seasonic does not have an 8P PCI-e connector at all. There is a way to convert a 6P connector to an 8P one with an adaptor but since it would still be be a 6P line with max output of 108W (216W total for the two connectors to be used on the GTX 280), I've instead opted for a new PSU that has four 6+2 combo connectors which will be enough to drive two GTX 280's if needed. Thanks again for all the suggestions.
Just one more suggestion. gimme your 600w Seasonic
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes