Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2008, 04:50 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default Can't Find 6" Sata Cable??

i CANT SEEM TO FIND ANY 6" sATA CABLES anywhere in Canada.... tigerdirect,Ncix,DirectCanada.... I cant find them anywhere..... was kinda hoping someone could point me in the right direction....


thanks.....
__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2008, 06:33 AM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

An internal cable for SATA disks in your computer? The max length is 39 inches. *

Or do you want an E-SATA cable?
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2008, 07:45 AM
vinister's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 297
Default

6" is very short for a sata cable, I don't think you'll find one.

6' is impossibly long for a sata cable, wont find one of those either.

Since they are so flat though, you can shorten one pretty easily by just folding it back on itself, taping it up, and sleeving it (if you want).
__________________
Mobo: DFI 790X-M2R
Proc: AMD PHENOM X3 720
Ram: OCZ Platinum 2X 2GB @ 1066
VIDEO: 3 x Visiontek HD3870
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2008, 09:12 AM
Spaceman-Spiff's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: burnaby.bc.ca
Posts: 355
Default

I think bending spirally is better than folding it:



Taken from Silver's post.

Just wrap it around a Marker or a thick pen, and it will form the spiral.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2008, 11:10 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default

forthe hard drive to the mobo.... I only have 12"'ers.... they do sell 6" but only in the states.... they want 4 bucks for the cable, but 27 for shipping...... I think not....


I did the spiral thing, but its still toooooo long in my opinon.... heres a photos...

__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2008, 03:58 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,054

My System Specs

Default

I didn't find 6", but I did find 8" if you are interested. You can find them at Monoprice.com
Even though it is a US store, the shipping is still really cheap. I checked for a Windsor postal code and it was only $1.94 for shipping with 2 cables. And the cables are only $0.74 a piece.

I have gotten stuff through them before and it is always good quality.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2008, 09:00 PM
Unklmo's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mtl, Qc
Posts: 160
Default

you might wanna check out Performance-PCs.com, ... sleeve it and they will come
american, but the shipping was very reasonable when i ordered some sixer's a while back.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes