Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 05:37 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sechelt, British Columbia
Posts: 48
Default Accelero S1 question...

Hey all! I just recently ordered a Accelero S1 Rev 2 from NCIX, but when I opened the box and pulled out the cooler I noticed that 8800 GT isnt one of the cards listed as compatible. From the Geforce line the box lists 6600 thru 8600 series but not 8800. On NCIX's webpage it says its compatible, and when I called them up they said it was compatible. I gotta admit Im a little worried about taking my vid card apart to find out this one wont fit and have my comp down while I wait for another to come.

So my question is there more then one model of Accelero S1 Rev.2, one for the 8800+ and one for 8600 and below? Or does box usually not list the 8800 as one of the compatible models?

Thanks in advance for any reply
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 05:43 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

Good news,

My 8800 gt is, as I type this, cooled by an accelero S1 Rev 2

By the way, even if you take your stock cooler out, re-putting it on wont be tough. Also, you should use tim on the accelero and it does not come with it.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 05:45 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,250

My System Specs

Default

The 8600 has the same hole-set as the 8800gt. Your good to go, dont worry about the package mine said the same.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 06:00 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sechelt, British Columbia
Posts: 48
Default

Daymn you guys are quick, thanks for the replies! That it is good news indeed, now I can go ahead with the install. And I have some AC MX-2 thermal compound left over from my cpu cooler so I should be good to go.

Thanks again, you guys rock!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 06:28 PM
Leclerc's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rouyn-Noranda (Qc.)
Posts: 110
Default

Arctic cooling website have installation tips for the 8800gt.
Arctic Cooling

Hope it helps.
__________________
Leclerc

AthlonX2 4600+ @ 3.0Ghz (tweaked by Ebdoradz) | Gigabyte MA790X-DS4 | 2x1GB Mushkin HP PC2-6400 @ 860Mhz | Silverstone Strider 500W PSU | Palit Radeon HD 3850 @ 720Mhz/1.76Ghz on 22" Acer X223w monitor | Thermaltake SopranoRS 101 | 1 x Seagate 250GB
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 11:54 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,638
Default

S1 works fine. Dropped my idle temps to like 35' and 40 under load.. 45 at the peak.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2008, 08:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sechelt, British Columbia
Posts: 48
Default

Well installation successful and wow what a difference. With the gpu caps viewer with stock after 130 secs it topped out at 104 degrees so stopped the test. After 10 mins of stress test 57 degrees. Only complaint is ram sinks dont stick well, even after thorough cleaning. Might have to look for some different ones. But wow what a difference, great buy!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes