Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2008, 03:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Default Dirty power keeps blowing my motherBs

Hi
I have an astronomical observatory that is powered from the cottage through a 500' underground wire. Every 10 minutes the air conditioner compressor goes on and I get a big AC deep/spike.
I've blown two M2N-e motherBs and I strongly suspect my dirty AC.
I'm actually considering a battery charger, battery, and inverter chain.
Any cost effective ideas or suggestions ?
Surge supressors? Power conditioners ?

Thanks
Juan
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2008, 04:52 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

A UPS battery backup with built-in surge protector will handle that just fine, its designed to take over when the power dips too low or goes off altogether. APC i believe is one of the best companies for them, check it out.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2008, 04:58 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,251

My System Specs

Default

Something like this??http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...ure=OPTI%2DUPS
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2008, 05:00 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

I have this model: APC BACK-UPS RS 1300VA LCD 120V. I used to power 2 Q6600 (oc'ed to 3.6GHz), and an E6400 (oc'ed to 3.43GHz) no problem. It's the single most important component I have ever bought.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 04:49 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post

Excellent find !
Most UPS in this price range only offer surge protection and power backup. This one is "line interactive". That is. It provides full time voltage regulation. Exactly what I was looking for !

Thanks !
Juan
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 06:50 AM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

ya, my APC UPS is susposed to switch to battery within a 1 msec I think.... so they say.
Its always kicking on and off with line noise, but never interrupts my PC, so I guess it works.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 09:35 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

you may want to also invest in a line conditioner as well.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 10:20 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lcdguy View Post
you may want to also invest in a line conditioner as well.
I was just going to say that.

:D
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 10:36 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,727
Default

I have the same model 3.0c suggested, and it is fantastic. Plus, the LCD readout is a very nice feature, so I can see my actual power consumption!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2008, 02:30 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

What exactly does a line conditioner do that a good UPS doesn't?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes