Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2008, 03:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Default Dirty power keeps blowing my motherBs

Hi
I have an astronomical observatory that is powered from the cottage through a 500' underground wire. Every 10 minutes the air conditioner compressor goes on and I get a big AC deep/spike.
I've blown two M2N-e motherBs and I strongly suspect my dirty AC.
I'm actually considering a battery charger, battery, and inverter chain.
Any cost effective ideas or suggestions ?
Surge supressors? Power conditioners ?

Thanks
Juan
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2008, 04:52 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,086
Default

A UPS battery backup with built-in surge protector will handle that just fine, its designed to take over when the power dips too low or goes off altogether. APC i believe is one of the best companies for them, check it out.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2008, 04:58 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,255

My System Specs

Default

Something like this??http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...ure=OPTI%2DUPS
__________________
heatware

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2008, 05:00 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,936

My System Specs

Default

I have this model: APC BACK-UPS RS 1300VA LCD 120V. I used to power 2 Q6600 (oc'ed to 3.6GHz), and an E6400 (oc'ed to 3.43GHz) no problem. It's the single most important component I have ever bought.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 04:49 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post

Excellent find !
Most UPS in this price range only offer surge protection and power backup. This one is "line interactive". That is. It provides full time voltage regulation. Exactly what I was looking for !

Thanks !
Juan
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 06:50 AM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 820
Default

ya, my APC UPS is susposed to switch to battery within a 1 msec I think.... so they say.
Its always kicking on and off with line noise, but never interrupts my PC, so I guess it works.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 09:35 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,053
Default

you may want to also invest in a line conditioner as well.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 10:20 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,428
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lcdguy View Post
you may want to also invest in a line conditioner as well.
I was just going to say that.

:D
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 10:36 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 4,001
Default

I have the same model 3.0c suggested, and it is fantastic. Plus, the LCD readout is a very nice feature, so I can see my actual power consumption!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
Asus X99-E WS/USB 3.0
i7-5820K
3 x GTX 1070
4x4GB Corsair LPX 2666MHZ
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 240GB Patriot Blaze SSD RAID0 :)
HP OMEN 32 1440p 75hz

Benq W1070 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2008, 02:30 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

What exactly does a line conditioner do that a good UPS doesn't?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes