Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2008, 07:24 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by voklskier4452 View Post
okay I pulled off the zalman again today and found far to much artic silver on. So I re-applied a thinner layer only to find that my e8400 still idles at around 46c. I ran orthos for a few minutes and the temp seemed to top off at about 55c at stock clock speeds. so these temps still seem way to high for a stock clock speed. So next step replace the cooler?
perfectly fine.

just make sure your using realtemp.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2008, 07:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 33
Default

Im using The nvidia controller, Core temp, and Speed fan. The nvidia controller shows the highest temps by about 8c and then core temp and speed fan are always within a few degrees of each other.
__________________
Cooler Master ATCS 840 (black)
Core i7 920 with DD MC-TDX
Asus P6T
EVGA gtx285 (single for now)
Patriot Viper PC3 12800 3x2gb
WD 500gb 7200rpm
WD raptorx 150gb 10000rpm
Corsair 1000HX
Vista Ultimate 64bit
Klipsch pro media 2.1 speakers
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2008, 07:35 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by voklskier4452 View Post
Im using The nvidia controller, Core temp, and Speed fan. The nvidia controller shows the highest temps by about 8c and then core temp and speed fan are always within a few degrees of each other.
Again I'll say... Use Realtemp.

thanks.

any nvidia software sucks.

want temps for video cards use rivatuber.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2008, 07:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 33
Default

i have rivatuner also, but now i am getting the bsod randomly
this is all very overwhelming considering this is my first build.. i was sort of hoping it would atleast work after a week
I installed real temp and it claims my idle temps are 39c, but when i start orthos to test the load temps they instantly jump to 46c and stay their.. is this bad?
__________________
Cooler Master ATCS 840 (black)
Core i7 920 with DD MC-TDX
Asus P6T
EVGA gtx285 (single for now)
Patriot Viper PC3 12800 3x2gb
WD 500gb 7200rpm
WD raptorx 150gb 10000rpm
Corsair 1000HX
Vista Ultimate 64bit
Klipsch pro media 2.1 speakers

Last edited by voklskier4452; June 5, 2008 at 08:31 PM. Reason: new info
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2008, 10:58 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Nothing wrong with 46 degrees under load. Comparing my own two quad-cores, I've noticed that the 45nm proc seems to hit max temps under load almost instantly, whereas the 65nm proc ramps up more gradually. Not entirely sure what to make of that, but it's definitely consistent and repeatable for me.

If you're concerned about your idle temps, and you're going to use Realtemp, it's main strength seems to be that you can calibrate it. It's a bit of a pain, but it supposedly improves the accuracy of your idle temps.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2008, 09:23 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 33
Default

okay well now that the temp issue has been sorted out.. (I now have a modest oc of 3.6ghz 36c idle and 49c load) Any advice on my sli issue?
__________________
Cooler Master ATCS 840 (black)
Core i7 920 with DD MC-TDX
Asus P6T
EVGA gtx285 (single for now)
Patriot Viper PC3 12800 3x2gb
WD 500gb 7200rpm
WD raptorx 150gb 10000rpm
Corsair 1000HX
Vista Ultimate 64bit
Klipsch pro media 2.1 speakers
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes