Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2015, 08:11 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6
Exclamation X-99 Deluxe/U3.1 + 2way sli GTX 970 Strix + ThunderboltEX II Not Working

Hi! so, this is my build:

Asus X-99 Deluxe/u3.1 - https://www.asus.com...s/X99DELUXEU31/
i7 5930k - 40 lane
Kingston HyperX Predator DDR4 2800MHz (4gbx8))
GTX 970 Strix (x2)
Kingston 240GB HyperX Predator M.2
Corsair H100i
Corsair AX860
ASUS ThunderboltEX II
Easy-fit 10Gb/s USB 3.1 Type-A Card (Dual)

Currently I'm only using 1 gtx b'cos when i put the second the system won't POST it just loops and restart, the last QCODE I can see is 79, and acording to some table is "CSM Initialization", and the VGA_LED turns on red 'till it restart,

The cards are instaled in this order:

PCIEX16_1 -- FIRST GTX 970
PCIEX4_1 -- Nothing and disabled in the bios/uefi
PCIEX16_2 -- Asus USB 3.1 card
PCIEX16_3 -- SECOND GTX 970 ******
PCIEX16_4 -- nothing
PCIEX16_5 -- ThunderboltEX

in the manual it make some reference about the PCIEX16_5 sharing "port" with the on-board M.2, but i haven't found any problem with it, actualy I'm using a thunderbolt display and Win 8.1 in the M.2, no other HDD/SSD is present in the system.

Ha! and i tested each GTX one by one and both work! so it is just some configuration I suspect,
BIOS/UEFI is updated to the last version 1801.

please any help is welcomed! Saludos desde México!

Attached Images
           
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2015, 09:08 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,330

My System Specs

Default

Have you tried booting it without the USB and Thunderbolt cards installed?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2015, 09:19 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 12,570
Default

Also, the ThunderBolt EX is supposed to be installed in the PCIEX4_1 slot. You also need to attach the link cable from your primary GPU to the DisplayPort IN port on the Thunderbolt EX card.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2015, 09:20 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Have you tried booting it without the USB and Thunderbolt cards installed?
Yes! my current config is:

PCIEX16_1 -- FIRST GTX 970
PCIEX4_1 -- Nothing and disabled in the bios/uefi (hidden under the gtx)
PCIEX16_2 -- ThunderboltEX
PCIEX16_3 -- SECOND GTX 970
PCIEX16_4 -- nothing (hidden under the gtx)
PCIEX16_5 -- nothing

and if I change the thunderbolt config in the bios to that specific PCIE slot the problem returns..

so, the PC boots... but the iSight, Usb ports etc. in the thunderbolt display are not working... so just video pass-throw...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2015, 09:22 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Also, the ThunderBolt EX is supposed to be installed in the PCIEX4_1 slot. You also need to attach the link cable from your primary GPU to the DisplayPort IN port on the Thunderbolt EX card.
but as the manual says the "best" configuration for the SLI cards are PCIEX16_1 and PCIEX16_, so the PCIEX4_1 ended hidden under the GTX
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2015, 09:23 AM
FreeKnight's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 992

My System Specs

Default

When you tested each board individually did you use the same PCIe slot?

Might be worth testing each PCIe slot individually, maybe there's a short in one?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2015, 09:36 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeKnight View Post
When you tested each board individually did you use the same PCIe slot?

Might be worth testing each PCIe slot individually, maybe there's a short in one?
no, i tested the gtxs in the PCIEX16_1, but if that would be the case i would be prompted by the bios for some voltage overload or something like that...

I believe it's the total amount of processor lanes, or the bios thunderbolt config:
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2015, 09:39 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 12,570
Default

With GPUs in the 1 and 3 spots there should be plenty of place for the Thunderbolt card.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2015, 10:32 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,093

My System Specs

Default

Didn't Linus ran in the same problem with his workstation? They built a 2P x79 rig with an Asus board and were planning to use 2 Titan X but the rig won't boot with both Titans. Last time I heard they were waiting for a custom bios from Asus. This is documented on their channel as our insane rendering machine or something similar, they used 2 18 core Xeons.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2015, 10:42 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 12,570
Default

The 2P rigs aren't SLI compatible......the consumer boards ARE.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
gtx970 , sli , thunderbolt , x99 , x99deluxe

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Asus STRIX GTX 970 - SOLD. crazyea Buy/Sell & Trade 65 October 17, 2014 04:12 PM
pny 8800gts -2way sli Cadence Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 December 10, 2008 02:51 PM