Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2008, 04:05 PM
Mulder's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 112
Default

Please excuse the quality of these pictures they were taken at my inlaws house with zero lighting and a poor quality phone camera and unfortunately I was at the will of the photographer so there not exactly what i was looking for. in all of these pictures all I have connected is power,cpu,cpu fan,ram and a video card nothing else no drives or fans or anything else. The first three pictures are off my old 7900gt and the last seven are of the 8800gt. I alternated from my gigabyte board to my old DFI board with the video cards so people could see that the cards work. I've tired many different sets of ram in my gigabyte board as well as four different cpus and nothing I do seems to get it to post.













Last edited by Mulder; June 14, 2008 at 04:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2008, 06:32 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bedford QC
Posts: 9,948

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the pics - nothing out of the ordinary. But I've read your thread over again and saw something: are those sticks on the DFI board some GSkills? I'm asking since the DS3L defaults at a low 1.8V Vram. And those Mushkin Redlines need 2.0V. Try to find a stick of ram that needs 1.8V to run - that just may be it. If so, raise the Vram to 2.0V and reboot using the Redlines.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2008, 07:36 PM
Mulder's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 112
Default

Yes for the pictures I ran Gskill Ram on the DFI board, I've run a few different cpu configurations and was forced to purchase a celeron cpu as apparently this motherboard wouldn't post without it. I've tried ever hardware variation I can imagine and haven't had the pc post.

Last edited by Mulder; June 15, 2008 at 03:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old June 14, 2008, 07:47 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bedford QC
Posts: 9,948

My System Specs

Default

... but have you tried some low voltage ram on the DS3L? Depending on the ram sticks, they still could be asking too many volts.

I still can't understand how NCIX managed to POST. With so many different hardware combinations, your board should have posted at least once! Only aspect left is the PSU.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...

Last edited by 3.0charlie; June 15, 2008 at 02:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2008, 04:25 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,541

My System Specs

Default

You've pretty well tried everything but a newer PSU. Wish I was local to you and I'd offer to swap something in to see if it does the trick. Kinda sucks to have to purchase a new one only to find it doesn't fix it.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 1X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / Uncased 256GB Sandisk Z400S SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2008, 01:33 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

This is just a shot in the dark, but could there be some sort of a grounding issue? I couldn't spot any mobo supports being used in those photos?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2008, 02:12 PM
Mulder's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 112
Default

Thanks for the reply MpG, there is very little metal on the top deck tech station, also there are plastic standoffs supporting the motherboard. I also threw twenty or so sheets of printer paper under the motherboard to make sure that there couldn't be any sort of short.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2008, 02:41 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Ah, gotcha. Couldn't quite tell what material the top of the station was made of, but if there's definitely no electrical contact with the back of the mobo, I guess that's not the problem.

I know there was a problem not too long ago with some G92-based video cards that weren't working with a lot of (top-tier) power supplies, but since the 7900 has the same problem, I guess that's not it either.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2008, 10:14 AM
Mulder's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 112
Default

My pc is finaly up and running after purchasing a new psu but now I can't get any mice to work in windows. The usb ports does have power while booting(can see the light on the bottom of the mice turn on) but once the XP splash screen pops up all the mice Ive tried turn off. Any help would be appreciated, I would like to use this pc sometime soon. :(

My Bios's USB Intergrated Peripherals settings are

Intergrated Peripherals

USB Controller Enabled
USB 2.0 Controller Enabled
USB Key Board Support Disabled PS2 keyboard have tired it on though
USB Usb Legacy USB Storage Detect Enabled
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2008, 10:48 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,541

My System Specs

Default

When you get to the splash screen, unplug your mouse and plug it into a different usb port. You should see some HDD activity while it looks for drivers (standard to XP), and in a minute or two you should have a working mouse. (This is why I keep a PS2 mouse and keyboard around... :) ).
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 1X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / Uncased 256GB Sandisk Z400S SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes