Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2015, 05:14 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 135

My System Specs

Default Fresh install 8.1 Freezing but mouse still moves

I installed 8.1 for the first time on my desktop just a few days ago and made sure all my drivers were correct from the Gigabyte website. When I first login sometimes my system will freeze, however I can still move around the mouse and ctrl+Alt-Del but I cant actually click anything. Not sure if thats a driver issue and it doesn't happen every time. I just hard restart and its fine the 2nd time. Happen to anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2015, 05:24 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,880

My System Specs

Default

Have you tried ctrl-alt-del to launch task manager in order to see what/if there's something eating cpu cycles?

How about your HDD? Is this a completely fresh install or is there a lot of non-OS content that win8 is attempting to index?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2015, 05:36 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 135

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Have you tried ctrl-alt-del to launch task manager in order to see what/if there's something eating cpu cycles?

How about your HDD? Is this a completely fresh install or is there a lot of non-OS content that win8 is attempting to index?
I cant really go too much into after. I tried logging off but it ends up freezing when logging off. Then I can still ctrl+alt+del again but screen just black. Its like semi froze. I wish I could grab a video but it doesn't happen all the time.

Im using a crucial ssd fresh install but i do have some start up apps. Steam, skype, utorrent and a few that installed with my mobo drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2015, 05:44 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,880

My System Specs

Default

Has it picked up the internet connection OK? The only other "quick" (without hands-on) that comes to mind would be to let it go to the login page and just walk away for a couple of hours to see if it's picking up any updates.

That said... if it's intermittent I'd be leaning more towards some kind of hardware issues.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2015, 05:50 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 135

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Has it picked up the internet connection OK? The only other "quick" (without hands-on) that comes to mind would be to let it go to the login page and just walk away for a couple of hours to see if it's picking up any updates.

That said... if it's intermittent I'd be leaning more towards some kind of hardware issues.
I believe the internet is fine. Il see next time if it happens. I wouldn't know where to start looking to see. But once it logs in im fine. It hasn't froze on me later in time when it successfully loads my desktop.......so far lol

The only thing I have done is oc my gskill ram from 1333 to 1600 and changed the timings to what gskill recommends.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2015, 06:26 PM
ern88's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 322

My System Specs

Default

return any overclocking to default and see if that solves it. Could be hardware stability problem.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2015, 06:29 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 135

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ern88 View Post
return any overclocking to default and see if that solves it. Could be hardware stability problem.
Thats what im thinking. If it happens again though, I try recording my screen with my phone to show the behaviour.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2015, 04:30 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 135

My System Specs

Default

Yesterday was fine however tonight turning the computer on for first time today and it froze after login.. This time mouse is not showing and I can't do anything else. Reboot and it's fine . I seem to already have a Internet connection at the login screen.

Last edited by biggyk; January 17, 2015 at 04:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2015, 05:03 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,880

My System Specs

Default

Have you tried a different mouse / USB port (preferably one off of the back of your motherboard)? Maybe you've got something going on with the physical USB connection.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 17, 2015, 05:24 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 135

My System Specs

Default

No I havent as I figured I can use to move it around while in login and sometimes in desktop dont think its an issue. I did go ahead and switch ports anyways.

A recent time I didnt see the mouse but i could get the right click sub menu to show but still couldnt ctl alt del. the only app that starts up in the bottom right is core temp, I think after that geforce loads.

Last edited by biggyk; January 17, 2015 at 05:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fresh install on a new rig. Skippman O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 September 18, 2014 11:11 AM
Fresh SSD Boot drive install suggestions Alwaysrun Storage 11 October 12, 2012 08:41 AM
fresh install advice with revo + F90 + 2TB wess88 Storage 2 July 18, 2011 06:09 PM
going from intel to amb do I need fresh install windows 7? Shadowmeph CPU's and Motherboards 11 May 6, 2010 11:24 AM
Fresh Win7 Install on SSD Hunt Storage 8 April 11, 2010 06:27 AM