Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2014, 05:34 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montreal
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default Screen tear on duplicate TV

Hi guys,

I just got a new TV yesterday and I'm having a bit of a problem, in that if both my displays (monitor via DisplayPort and TV via HDMI) are connected in duplicate mode and turned on, the TV will have a screen tear regularly make its way down the screen while watching videos. If my monitor is off, no screen tear, so I take it that my video card is having trouble streaming to both displays at the same time.

My video card is an MSI R9 290X Gaming, my monitor is a Nixeus NX-VUE27D and my TV is a Sony KDL48W600B. I'm running Windows 8.1. System specs are attached to my profile if needed.

My monitor only supports DisplayPort and I don't have an adapter, so if I can sort this issue out on the software side of things that'd be great. Appreciate any advice you can lend. :)

Frugalmeister
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2014, 05:42 AM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,092

My System Specs

Default

Do you have another Video card.

Try two cards one fore each display. fore testing.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2014, 05:45 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montreal
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

I have an integrated video card which is currently disabled. I'm afraid I don't know how to run both cards simultaneously.

Frugalmeister
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2014, 05:52 AM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,092

My System Specs

Default

Simple BIOS first screen (F3) Quick Launch / Video set up / Auto / Use IGPU

EDIT; I'm defragging / if you need I will take som pics and show you later.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2014, 06:09 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montreal
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

I believe that that option would enable the integrated graphics card only, and not both cards simultaneously.

I have already tried using IGPU only but I can't plug in both displays into the motherboard as there is no DisplayPort for the monitor. No screen tear on TV via HDMI through motherboard with IGPU enabled, but the result is the same when going through the dedicated graphics card with monitor unplugged/switched off.

I thought you suggested I run both graphics cards simultaneously, monitor plugged into discreet and TV plugged into integrated? I don't know how to do this.

Frugalmeister
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2014, 06:19 AM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,092

My System Specs

Default

Look into AMD driver.

Like nividia control panel. should have options there fore using displays.

I have not played to much at all with AMD product.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2014, 06:24 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montreal
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

Yes, there is the AMD Catalyst Control Center, but it has way too many options and I'm a bit afraid to play around with them without guidance. When both displays are plugged into the dedicated graphics card, they both show up in the Catalyst software, but if I try to play around with the TV display options, it warns me that I can permanently damage the display. :/

Frugalmeister
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2014, 06:32 AM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,092

My System Specs

Default

I Have not used AMD so I don't know.

Do you have the Intel driver fore the IGPU.
Running the IGPU is going heat your chip so watch temps.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2014, 06:52 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montreal
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

Yes, all my drivers are installed and up to date.

Frugalmeister
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2014, 07:02 AM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 679

My System Specs

Default

I am using a 270x with similar set up as I am using. Hdmi gor my tv. Try the extended desktop and othats what I use with no problems.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD screen tear in duplicate display mode ChrisCP3Paul Video Cards 9 June 10, 2014 11:31 AM
Delete duplicate entries in Outlook Calendar Behemoth- O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 May 17, 2010 10:47 AM
Complete Tear down and ReTIM IC7 Realityshift Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 6 March 27, 2009 01:56 PM
Oh em gee! Needs new card! *tear tear* llama_egg Video Cards 3 January 3, 2008 11:36 AM