Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2014, 06:49 AM
TTC TTC is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 55
Default How I think I fixed the bf4 vram problem/crashing

So ya first post!

So i have a pretty decent system.
Win 7
8 gig ram
ssd
2x 280x sapphire in crossfire
i2500@4800mhz

For the damned life of me I couldn get it to run crossfire in bf4

Crashes, bluescreens, white screens. Tried every driver, every bios, every setting possible. Put the cards up for sale.

Well ... Last night I think I fixed it. I'm sure its a vram memory leak. Didn't matter what god forsaken video setting I used it would always creep up and up to 3800-4000 vram usage.

Currently on 14.3, using mantle it worked for an entire night.

All I did was remove the amd bf4 crossfire profile in the game settings ( catalyst ). I put it to "disable" and the damn thing ran.

Crushes ultra all day long in crossfire at 120fps. Ill report back after a little bit.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2014, 09:13 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,846

My System Specs

Default

Good to hear you are happy with your fix. How was it running in other games before? Is it using both GPU with crossfire disable? Use MSI afterburner or something equivalent and check GPU load percentages to see if it is stressing both.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2014, 09:51 AM
TTC TTC is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 55
Default

Other games like Bf3 and assetto corsa ran fine. Bf4.was a nightmare. Hopefully this sticks and works.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2014, 10:18 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,615
Default

And you are still getting proper scaling?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2014, 11:45 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 445
Default

3800-4000 what? MB? That's more vram than the 280X has: 3072 MB Are you adding up the vram used by both cards?

I also have two 280X cards in a crossfire configuration. 14.3 is the first Catalyst driver with Mantle I've tried. I have played long sessions (5+ hours) without issue. Crossfire is enabled.

Perhaps the custom Catalyst application settings you used for BF4 was the issue.

[edit: I just want to add that BF4 Mantle with 280X Crossfire is an extremely satisfying gaming experience. smooooooooth]
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2014, 12:50 PM
TTC TTC is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Desiato View Post
3800-4000 what? MB? That's more vram than the 280X has: 3072 MB Are you adding up the vram used by both cards?

I also have two 280X cards in a crossfire configuration. 14.3 is the first Catalyst driver with Mantle I've tried. I have played long sessions (5+ hours) without issue. Crossfire is enabled.

Perhaps the custom Catalyst application settings you used for BF4 was the issue.

[edit: I just want to add that BF4 Mantle with 280X Crossfire is an extremely satisfying gaming experience. smooooooooth]
I'm using the graph on the Msi Oc graph. I'm not sure if its just swapping or whatever. But I do know its got a max of 3072 not x2 of that.

I think it was the application settings.

I get 120fps or so on Ultra. So far very nice. Some fps drops/cpu hiccups but it seems better. I use DX, I find I get to many cpu stutters on mantle.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Steam connection problem (Problem Fixed) great_big_abyss Gaming 3 January 10, 2012 04:37 PM
fixed-6950 skyrim graphics problem TedShackley Video Cards 4 January 8, 2012 09:39 PM
Windows 7 Crashing.*Fixed* TokeR Troubleshooting 7 April 12, 2011 08:33 PM
Still never fixed this problem bvsbutthd101 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 October 24, 2010 08:46 AM
ati drivers atikmdag fixed but new problem. stormkiller22 Troubleshooting 9 September 23, 2008 06:35 PM