Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2014, 10:48 AM
JoeOnePack's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: GTA
Posts: 237

My System Specs

Default $100 To Whoever Fixes My Computer

Alright. Long story short.

I decided to paint the IO shield and IO panel to match the rest of my build and accidentally used Krylon instead of Plastidip as I've seen others do. I masked off the area to what I thought would be perfect, but upon further inspection I got some paint on the motherboard itself. I'm pretty sure I fried it.

The computer boots into BIOS fine and will attempt the first Windows screen as seen in this video, but freezes and sends me to launch repair. The board is throwing almost every code in the book. Here is a video of what happens when I start the computer.

P1020269_zps5e766bdb.mp4 Video by LaZeD | Photobucket

For the love of god. If you can fix my computer I will give you a crisp $100 bill. Otherwise I'm buying a replacement. AHHHHHHH!!!!!!




Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2014, 11:19 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,910

My System Specs

Default

Are you sure it's not just your HDD/SSD/Windows? Can you boot up a Live Linux distro (like Ubuntu)?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2014, 11:46 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

The codes showing is normal during POST, I am with JD, is the bios set for ACHI?
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2014, 11:49 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,607
Default

I'm looking at that picture and I notice you don't even HAVE your backplate in place which isn't a good thing. Second paint wouldn't stop a system from booting.

Sounds like something is broken or not seated properly.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2014, 11:52 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,591

My System Specs

Default

That was my thought too, sounds like maybe you are on IDE when you should be on AHCI or vice versa.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2014, 12:08 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,382

My System Specs

Default

Like what others already have said above paint shouldn't stop system from booting into windows .
you Probably bumped a sata cable or something like that check to see that everything is plugged in .
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2014, 12:13 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,034

My System Specs

Default

Press F8 before Windows loads and disable automatic restart - show us the BSOD it gets stuck on.
I'm guessing Unmountable boot volume, so get a spare HDD and try a fresh install.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2014, 05:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: In a basement
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

I sorta doubt I'll help at all but this is what I did.
This happened to me just recently when I tried installing new hardware, it would just hang, even after the
new hardware was removed. I got the
exact same board as you, clr cmos didn't help me either.

When starting up, just after the BIOS splashscreen mash
F8 > Last Known Good Configuration.

As others have said, check to see if AHCI is enabled.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2014, 08:45 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

I'd throw my weight at saying you haven't messed up the mobo by painting it. Not certain what messed it up, but if you can get into BIOS just fine and get it to start loading windows (as you show), then your problem is something to do with the drive windows is installed on. I've had my windows install corrupted a few times on my ASUS board from just changing parts around. Pretty pissy that I've never had this problem with any gigabyte boards I've owned but yet this ASUS one has done it to me 3x in 3 months.

If changing your BIOS settings doesn't fix your problem, get your install disk and boot from that and try running the tools to repair/diagnose.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2014, 11:17 PM
MAC's Avatar
MAC MAC is offline
Associate Review Editor
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 992
Default

Krylon is basically just dye for plastic, so I don't think that it is conductive.

Now assuming setting the SATA ports to AHCI doesn't work, are you 100% sure that you are using the same port that you used when installing the operating system?

For example, if you were originally using one of the four red SATA slots on the left - those labelled SATA6G_E1 to SATA6G_E4 - and have now plugged your drive into one of the two red SATA ports next to the black ports, you will have problems since you were originally using the ASMedia SATA controller and are now trying to use the onboard Intel SATA controller...which you can't do without basically reinstalling Windows.

Last edited by MAC; March 28, 2014 at 11:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water spill near computer, computer still works fine? ChacePoint Troubleshooting 11 August 5, 2013 08:40 AM
NVIDIA Releases New 304.48 Beta Drivers; Perf. Increases & Fixes Aplenty SKYMTL Video Cards 4 June 19, 2012 03:41 PM
Software Fixes Depository bovine.baron O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 February 24, 2010 02:42 PM
New Core_14 Fixes Shader And Mixed Gen. Bugs LCB001 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 October 27, 2009 07:06 AM