Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2014, 01:29 PM
clg clg is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 71
Default CMOS reset/restart and no luck

So put my computer to sleep last night, fired it up this morning to a black screen. Tried to restart and it just shut down. I did some trouble shooting and reset the CMOS via the jumper, it worked but I accidentally went into setup vs. Del for BIOS update so I foolishly did a restart again and I'm pretty sure I bent myself over there. I cannot boot now, no resets are working and I'm left with a dead PC. Did I ruin this Mobo, is it time to go shopping? Mobo in question is an Asus P8Z77-V LK

Last edited by clg; March 25, 2014 at 09:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2014, 02:10 PM
clg clg is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 71
Default

Just needed to sit unplugged for a bit for whatever reason. Fired up, updated BIOS from flash and I'm back to the races once again.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2014, 05:50 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,561

My System Specs

Default

Good to hear. I successfully flashed a Gigabyte board yesterday via USB flash drive. Shadowmeph wasn't so fortunate.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2014, 07:50 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,045

My System Specs

Default

You can save to a USB stick on that board BIOS and settings.
If you upgrade BIOS it will eat all your saved settings so photo or write them all down before flashing.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2014, 09:42 PM
clg clg is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 71
Default

Shut it down earlier tonight, now it doesn't want to start tor no reason whatsoever. No beeps, gpu lights showing they're receiving power. PSU is an AX750 that was new as of the holidays.

Unplug the PSU for about an hour, plug it back in and it fires up. Fine when put to sleep, shut down causes this.

Last edited by clg; March 26, 2014 at 12:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2014, 06:56 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Do you have to leave it sit for an hour? Normally once it's unplugged you just have to press the power button a few times to discharge the capacitors.

Have you redone all of the connections to ensure you don't have a bad "power = good" connection? How about testing the PSU by disconnecting it from the system, shorting the plug for power (Green + black) and then cycle it on / off to see if you can replicate the issue with the motherboard out of the loop?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2014, 08:54 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,308

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Do you have to leave it sit for an hour? Normally once it's unplugged you just have to press the power button a few times to discharge the capacitors.

Have you redone all of the connections to ensure you don't have a bad "power = good" connection? How about testing the PSU by disconnecting it from the system, shorting the plug for power (Green + black) and then cycle it on / off to see if you can replicate the issue with the motherboard out of the loop?
That is what I usually do when reseting my cmos just unplug press the power button for maybe 10seconds and everything is reset .

Off topic
unfortuanately my last flash was a total failure but luckly my motherboard has a removable Bios chip I can buy.
I wonder that one I get the new chip if I can use it to reflash my old chip hmm
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2014, 09:53 AM
clg clg is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Do you have to leave it sit for an hour? Normally once it's unplugged you just have to press the power button a few times to discharge the capacitors.

Have you redone all of the connections to ensure you don't have a bad "power = good" connection? How about testing the PSU by disconnecting it from the system, shorting the plug for power (Green + black) and then cycle it on / off to see if you can replicate the issue with the motherboard out of the loop?
Not quite an hour, but a while. I'll do as you suggested and report back.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UL50VT Reset CMOS CroSsFiRe2009 Mobile Computing 3 November 19, 2010 02:23 PM
Aspire One d150 CMOS reset Overclocker~4.1 Troubleshooting 8 May 17, 2010 11:54 AM
Had to clear CMOS... why? somecanadianguy Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 June 6, 2009 09:24 AM
Wow, What luck! encorp Off Topic 8 November 16, 2008 09:52 AM
CMOS issue Tsunami~ Troubleshooting 10 May 30, 2008 04:18 PM