Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2014, 03:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 16
Default

????????????????????????

My goal was to get a *1066Ghz / core 2 duo*
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2014, 04:23 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,084

My System Specs

Default

Yeah the reality is that system is too old to expect to do any real gaming. A p4 CPU will not handle modern games. You will need a newer CPU/motherboard. Not all socket 775 motherboards and CPU are compatible.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2014, 04:39 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,954
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NY_Zombie_Sniper View Post
????????????????????????

My goal was to get a *1066Ghz / core 2 duo*


? really going backward with this, most systems are 4-8 cores on todays gaming rigs

when your @ 2, Core 2 brand was introduced on 27 July 2007


dual video

This feature may not be available on all computing systems. Please check with the system vendor to determine if your system delivers this feature, or reference the system specifications (motherboard, processor, chipset, power supply, HDD, graphics controller, memory, BIOS, drivers, virtual machine monitor-VMM, platform software, and/or operating system) for feature compatibility. Functionality, performance, and other benefits of this feature may vary depending on system configuration.


Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2014, 07:00 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 731
Default

To be honest, the spec listed on the Gateway website doesn't say if the newer Core 2 Duo would work with a BIOS update. The safe assumption is that it will not since computer retailers have no interests in supporting DIY upgrades. As we said before, just because it's 775 socket, it doesn't mean all CPU will work.

Finally, it clearly said supported CPU is IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 Processor. Core 2 Duo is not Pentium 4.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2014, 12:44 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 16
Default

I understand that my pc * is not top grade * but is still play games my only problem is Rockstar/La Noire and the way they caps the FPS at 30 the same way for the console and to me that is very stupid and foolish is also most tell the

PC GAMER COMMUNITY

To F off and spend XYZ on upgrade and is still won't work

That really really brother me !
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2014, 01:32 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,660
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NY_Zombie_Sniper View Post
I understand that my pc * is not top grade * but is still play games my only problem is Rockstar/La Noire and the way they caps the FPS at 30 the same way for the console and to me that is very stupid and foolish is also most tell the

PC GAMER COMMUNITY

To F off and spend XYZ on upgrade and is still won't work

That really really brother me !
By todays standards your system is archaic and won't be able to play much if not at all. Its just not worth spending money on that system anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2014, 01:36 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,084

My System Specs

Default

Yeah the issue is you have a 10ish year old cpu. Buy something from withing the last 3-4 years and you will be fine. If someone told you that would be a good gaming computer, then you got ripped off.

Expecting that computer to run modern games well is like buying a PS2 and complaining it won't play PS4 games.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb

Last edited by Bond007; March 17, 2014 at 01:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2014, 05:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 16
Default

So let me ask you this.........

Can i change video card because i pay $10 for this games from eBay and if i knew about * the caps * i would never bought the games because i thought is going to another cool GTA clone i should have research it more before buying it
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2014, 05:20 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,660
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NY_Zombie_Sniper View Post
So let me ask you this.........

Can i change video card because i pay $10 for this games from eBay and if i knew about * the caps * i would never bought the games because i thought is going to another cool GTA clone
Its ... not ... worth ... it

No matter what you throw into that thing it isn't going to make a difference at all.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2014, 05:54 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,735

My System Specs

Default

Please do not initiate discussion(s) of hacking software on this website.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Nothing ATM FlyingFish Buy/Sell & Trade 11 May 9, 2014 02:20 PM
just bought my first ssd techman95 Storage 13 June 20, 2012 02:49 PM
[WTB] bought mckchun Buy/Sell & Trade 1 March 17, 2012 11:41 PM
[WTB] Bought, bought, bought MikeFallen Buy/Sell & Trade 0 July 20, 2011 01:06 PM
[FS] eVGA 8400GS "PCI" $45 shipped Silvgearx Buy/Sell & Trade 14 July 11, 2009 08:46 PM