Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2014, 06:07 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 708

My System Specs

Default Computer restarts 3 times after first boot

Hey , i have a problem and i'm not sure what it is, this morning ,when i started my computer, it started, got the bios screen then it just shut down and restarted again, automatically,and this 3 times, before it booted normally.

Running on a new samsung 840EVO, 1 month old and never had problems with it. Gigabyte cold start bugs?
Crystal disk info says the SSD is ok... also Samsung magician wants me to do a firmware update, could be that?

Thanks

Last edited by bliz; March 9, 2014 at 06:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2014, 07:59 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,970
Default

sounds if a MS OS update was performed

check your Installed Updates

Control Panel\System and Security\Windows Update\Installed Updates

Last edited by KaptCrunch; March 9, 2014 at 08:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2014, 08:10 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 708

My System Specs

Default

Could be... Last one was yesterday ( but not an OS update) but i never had these kinds of restarts just after the bios screen, anyway i guess i'll see if it happens again...

Thanks for your answer!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2014, 08:37 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,797

My System Specs

Default

Is this system oc'd? Sounds to me like the bios is trying to find working men settings. If it's oc'd, then try at stock settings, if not, then maybe your motherboard battery might need replacing.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2014, 08:44 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,970
Default

yes SS is correct check cmos battery or cmos jumper header is in norm position
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2014, 08:33 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 708

My System Specs

Default

My CPU is not overclockable ,i only have a light OC on the GPU. I will check the battery, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2014, 11:10 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,144

My System Specs

Default

How is your back up off your computer. ??
back up your whole computer if you can in case the firmware update does not work out fore the best.
USB 3 and a few tarabites ??
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2014, 05:35 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 708

My System Specs

Default

Well i didn't know that the firmware update was a risky thing ^^ It worked perfectly and now my computer boots fine, if it happens again i will change the battery.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2014, 09:00 AM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,144

My System Specs

Default

Glad to hear things are good. :)
A back up gives you more peace of mind in case things happen. Prepare fore bad things when they don't happen Be Happy.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2014, 11:21 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,797

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bliz View Post
Well i didn't know that the firmware update was a risky thing ^^ It worked perfectly and now my computer boots fine, if it happens again i will change the battery.
Heh.... firmware updates will make bricks out of things just as easily as a bios update.... rule of thumb is to never update bios / firmware on a possibly unstable system except as a last resort.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD Issue - Rather slow Boot Load Times BVickery Storage 5 July 19, 2012 04:42 PM
Benefits of having OS on SSD beyond boot times? bradleyg5 Storage 10 October 17, 2011 02:35 PM
Computer restarts after entering 3D binary Troubleshooting 4 February 21, 2010 01:42 PM
HELP! Computer randomly freezes and restarts!! wingzero3002 Troubleshooting 10 December 2, 2009 10:39 PM
Restarts during boot Infiniti Troubleshooting 11 October 14, 2007 06:35 PM