Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2014, 01:26 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,955
Default

wise conclusion ZZlee for most first time miss the instructions on how to update/flash

like exit update/flash when got stuck.......doctor is doing brain surgery then pulls plug out of respiratory system leaving you brain dead

eg. router updated through a wan/lan not direct to PC only ..... update flash sent to wrong unit and killing that received unit

good choice to back up before task ;)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2014, 01:28 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,955
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Heh.... firmware updates will make bricks out of things just as easily as a bios update.... rule of thumb is to never update bios / firmware on a possibly unstable system except as a last resort.
yes and power failure is another big concern use a UPS if can
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2014, 09:51 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 701

My System Specs

Default

Hey, now i have this problem everyday, actually , every time i restart my computer after 7 hours off i have it ;

my computer restarted for at least 7 times after the gigabyte splashscreen this day. After 7 times i decided to cut the power and restart it and it worked... Btw it does it before scanning for devices and booting. Can't even acess BIOS.

I did a full 40min memtest86 and i tried to switch the motherboard battery but it didn't change anything. Switched PSU's and it looks like i don't have the problem with my sister's Dark power pro gold... Tried to reboot with this PSU about 10 times and everything was fine.


What's confusing is that if i reboot the computer several times with my old (potentially broken) PSU, it works fine, will boot first time... looks like it happens randomly or will always happen if my computer is "cold". So i'm still not 100% sure it's the PSU.

Is there any technical explanation for that? Maybe bad capacitors? And could the PSU make the computer restart after bios screen?

Last edited by sswilson; March 22, 2014 at 01:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2014, 01:07 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,424

My System Specs

Default

yes sir... if it aint broke don't fix it.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2014, 01:47 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,640

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bliz View Post
Hey, now i have this problem everyday, actually , every time i restart my computer after 7 hours off i have it ;

my computer restarted for at least 7 times after the gigabyte splashscreen this day. After 7 times i decided to cut the power and restart it and it worked... Btw it does it before scanning for devices and booting. Can't even acess BIOS.

I did a full 40min memtest86 and i tried to switch the motherboard battery but it didn't change anything. Switched PSU's and it looks like i don't have the problem with my sister's Dark power pro gold... Tried to reboot with this PSU about 10 times and everything was fine.


What's confusing is that if i reboot the computer several times with my old (potentially broken) PSU, it works fine, will boot first time... looks like it happens randomly or will always happen if my computer is "cold". So i'm still not 100% sure it's the PSU.

Is there any technical explanation for that? Maybe bad capacitors? And could the PSU make the computer restart after bios screen?

Sure, any of the voltages related to memory could be so far out of tolerance that the motherboard's VRMs can't keep up and thus the bios keeps down clocking / loosening the timing of the memory in an attempt to find a stable setting.

(and if you're wondering why my name appears as having edited your post... that's what happens when a mod accidentally hits the edit button instead of "quote".... :) ).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2014, 02:52 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 701

My System Specs

Default

Ok, thanks :) Well i bought a BeQuiet Dark power pro 550w 80+gold for my computer, i'll see how it goes.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2014, 06:32 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 964
Default

Really sounds like the Gigabyte cold boot problem. If it is, chances are it will continually get worse until one day it just won't boot anymore. As this issue has been around for almost 10 years now I won't purchase any of their mobo's anymore. Been burned twice by them and since they refuse to do anything about it so I refuse to give them my money.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2014, 06:18 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 701

My System Specs

Default

Indeed... Was not the PSU... The only thing left is the motherboard... It's probably the motherboard, now i'll try to find an old 1155 motherboard somewhere :/
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD Issue - Rather slow Boot Load Times BVickery Storage 5 July 19, 2012 03:42 PM
Benefits of having OS on SSD beyond boot times? bradleyg5 Storage 10 October 17, 2011 01:35 PM
Computer restarts after entering 3D binary Troubleshooting 4 February 21, 2010 12:42 PM
HELP! Computer randomly freezes and restarts!! wingzero3002 Troubleshooting 10 December 2, 2009 09:39 PM
Restarts during boot Infiniti Troubleshooting 11 October 14, 2007 05:35 PM