Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2014, 02:16 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,610

My System Specs

Default What is wrong?

I have an older system, with an Atthlon II X3 450 that has started to reboot out of the blue. I have 4x2GB RAM on it, a Radeon HD 5770HD, 120GB SATA II SSD, a Mushkin one. The system has started to reboot randomly, what it looks like is the image corrupts and the system restarts. I installed NFS Rivals on it and played briefly the training part, but with frequent issues with the sound, sound is stumbling sometimes and the voice repeat itself 3-4 times.
Originally I suspected my SSD as I was getting messages that Windows was not able to load: I disconneted the sata cable the power cable from it, put them back, but no go, it rebooted the next time I tried to power it on.
I did a full Windows reinstall yesterday morning, but the issue started to happen yesterday evening as well, just after accessing utorrent for example. There were no huge torrents to check, as I am downloadig JAG now and it has 76 GB. The torrent download directory is not on the SSD but on an additional 300GB WD drive. The system is not overcklocked at all, I dialed back to factory defaults all the settings after having it unlcked to 4th core and apply a 10% ovc.
Any ideas?
Next step I would take out the GPU and run on the IGP alone see what happens, IGP is AMD 780G.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2014, 03:13 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,954
Default

remove MB from case and try on cardboard box if still reboots

then remove hardware till it stops if are getting no BSOD messages
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2014, 06:29 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,610

My System Specs

Default

Ok, some additional issues : the SATA ports 5 and 6 sometimes do not appear in BIOS at all and I think my SSD was installed on one of them. So I moved everything on the SATA ports 1 2 and 3, put a Crucial M4 SSD on it and installed windows from zero. Will keep updated if more issues arise
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2014, 07:06 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,779
Default

Sounds like your southbridge is going.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2014, 08:07 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,610

My System Specs

Default

yes, seems like it. Worst case scenario installing a sata card would solve the issue, at least for storage. But I guess I should be looking at another motherboard?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2014, 09:56 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,779
Default

In the short term a SATA card should work since the 780G's Northbridge controls the PCI-E 2.0 interface.

HOWEVER, remember that the standard PCI slots are still controlled by your possibly wonky Southbridge.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2014, 11:03 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

I'd open up the power supply and take a look at the capacitors.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2014, 12:29 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,610

My System Specs

Default

ok, so pci express expansion card. good to know. psu is brand new. it powers a radeon 5770hd and did not have an issue while gaming.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2014, 12:40 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,660
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
ok, so pci express expansion card. good to know. psu is brand new. it powers a radeon 5770hd and did not have an issue while gaming.
Be warned SATA expansion cards do NOT all have the ability to be booted from. Some are just dummy cards that allow for extra sata ports into the system while others can have a bios to allowing booting of drives.

Generally the ones with a "bios" are going to cost more.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2014, 04:59 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,610

My System Specs

Default

thx, i have been using bootable sata cards for some time now. I would actually say that the non bootable one are rarer than the bootable ones. Among the ones I used so far are Syba cards equipped with Silicon Image 3124 and 3132 chipsets, the Asus U3S6 with Marvell chipset and a LSI SAS 3041E-R. I know storage controllers.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Something must be wrong with this Shadowmeph HardwareCanucks F@H Team 13 October 18, 2012 09:56 AM
Something wrong with my cpu? overlords CPU's and Motherboards 36 January 17, 2011 07:56 PM
Am I doing something wrong? boggtrotter59 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 15 March 19, 2010 11:12 AM
Is CPU-Z wrong?!!? MognonMan Troubleshooting 2 June 28, 2008 08:56 AM
Did I do wrong? Jack Rabbit Off Topic 9 June 6, 2008 05:31 PM