Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2014, 11:17 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 14
Default Suddenly Getting BSOD

It seems that since I've added another HDD to my computer I'm suddenly getting BSODs randomly. They happen sometimes when exiting BF4(could be an issue with the game, haven't been on much else) and there's about a 50% it'll happen when I try to shut down my computer, but it never happens on the second try.

Here's a screenshot of the errors:



Bigger picture
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2014, 09:39 AM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,045

My System Specs

Default

Swap out Stata cable, change stata power connector, plug in to a different port.
set AICHI in Bios ?
Whats the spec on the drive ??

If you can give us a full system Spec it will help. ??
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2014, 11:50 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZLEE View Post
Swap out Stata cable, change stata power connector, plug in to a different port.
set AICHI in Bios ?
Whats the spec on the drive ??

If you can give us a full system Spec it will help. ??
I'll give those a try. And that is set in the BIOS.

It's a Seagate Barracuda 2TB(ST2000DM001) drive that I added, I have 2 of them in my system now. The rest of my system is pretty basic: i5-4670k, a 7970, ASUS Z87-A, 500w PSU, 8gb of RAM and an SSD.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2014, 12:04 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,307

My System Specs

Default

it most likely has something to do with the game .what brand of PSU are you using I am not sure of how much power is needed but it also be something to do with the power .
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2014, 12:40 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

If you haven't already, you can try installing the motherboard chipset drivers on the off chance that the new drive isn't playing nice with the initial installation.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2014, 01:33 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,045

My System Specs

Default

What PSU ??
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2014, 09:52 PM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 605

My System Specs

Default

Your 500watt psu. We need to know name/Brand and how old it is.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2014, 11:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks for all the replies. The power supply is a 500 OCZ one, just a standard bronze one, it's a few years old. I'll definitely try installing the chipset drivers again.

For all the responses about the PSU, wouldn't it be causing problems in the middle of games when my computer is using the most power? Compared to when I'm shutting down my computer?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2014, 12:23 AM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 605

My System Specs

Default

Iv seen this issue but it was way back in the Xp days when Xp just came out. Did a clean install then Intel chipset drivers and video rebooted did other driver installs next. Never seen the same issue arise after that.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2014, 01:52 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 14
Default

I just remembered that I installed a new video card driver right around the BSODs started... so I'm guessing there's a good chance that's the issue. Going to try going back to the older drivers and see what happens. If that doesn't work I'm thinking I'll just do a fresh install. Not really a big deal since I really only have my OS and some programs on my SSD.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Micro HDMI port suddenly won't recognize anything Marute Troubleshooting 0 September 21, 2013 11:30 AM
If you suddenly got a Windows 8 (not RT) tablet, what would you do with it? YoungMan Mobile Computing 4 May 15, 2013 03:53 PM
P.C Suddenly Turning Off and can't turn it back on until P.C. is unplugged Avenger212 Troubleshooting 8 December 5, 2012 10:30 PM
CPU temperatures suddenly rising. Kieli Troubleshooting 7 March 19, 2012 10:39 AM
Suddenly Stopped Booting meantone Troubleshooting 5 July 9, 2010 07:49 AM