Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2013, 05:25 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 33

My System Specs

Default 8350, Crosshair V, no fan, no post, no beeps. - UPDATE - CPU not working!

Hey there,

I just bought an 8350 and Crosshair V formula z off kijiji....when plugged in I cannot get the thing to post, or spin up a fan at all. The red line on the mobo lights up, as does the start button, but pressing that or the cases power button leads to nothing. Have doubled checked all connections, plugged into speakers and no beeps, RAM sitting in slot. Am I missing something simple here?

Last edited by AstonM; January 17, 2014 at 11:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2013, 06:50 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

Is it in a case? Did you replace anothenr board? I'm wondering if maybe you have a stand-off where you shouldn't and it's creating a short somewhere. Try removing the motherboard from the case, setting it on top of the motherboard box and seeing if it will run there.

Short of that, are all your power cables plugged in, including the 8-pin CPU power connector at the top of the board?

Have you tried reseating the CPU in the socket, at the same time checking to make sure none of the pins are damaged?

Could you take pictures of all your connections?
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2013, 07:03 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 33

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
Is it in a case? Did you replace anothenr board? I'm wondering if maybe you have a stand-off where you shouldn't and it's creating a short somewhere. Try removing the motherboard from the case, setting it on top of the motherboard box and seeing if it will run there.

Short of that, are all your power cables plugged in, including the 8-pin CPU power connector at the top of the board?

Have you tried reseating the CPU in the socket, at the same time checking to make sure none of the pins are damaged?

Could you take pictures of all your connections?
Thanks for the response, I will take the board out tomorrow. Bought it on Kijiji already installed in a case with CPU installed. Already took the cpu out and not bent pins.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2013, 09:32 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 645

My System Specs

Default

Did u get the manual for the MOBO? I own a crosshair V, it has a set of debug leds that will tell you what's up.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2013, 10:31 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,951
Default

other thing is the bios not supporting your FX 9350 chip will give lights but no start condition

did MB box come with board, if so check the bar code sticker will say what version of bios it has

Crosshair V Formula-Z bios needed is 0806 for 8350 chip current bios 1701 for your MB

if no video will have to use another cpu that will boot so you can up-date bios



Crosshair V Formula-Z user's manual.pdf and read all of section 3 on bios updating

as you see below in pic the highlighted area is very important
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2013, 11:07 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

He says he has an 8350, not a 9350...a Crosshair V should start with an 8350...
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2013, 11:56 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,951
Default

was a typo error
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2013, 02:22 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 33

My System Specs

Default

Hey guys,

Thanks for the responses. No error coming up on the LEDs, taken the whole rig out of the case, placed on cardboard, same issue I have also updated the BIOS to the most recent using the ROG Connect feature. I used a known working video card (gts 250) and my power supply (plugged both into another computer to check) but nothing is happening, also have a fan plugged into the main CPU FAN socket and 1 stick of working ram plugged in. I took out the processor to check for any bent pins or signs of overheating and nothing.... Any Ideas???? Again, no error codes from the Mobo. Have also reset the CMOS
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2013, 02:36 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,577

My System Specs

Default

I hope you have contact info for the kijiji seller. I'd just ask for my money back.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2013, 02:59 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 33

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I hope you have contact info for the kijiji seller. I'd just ask for my money back.
Tried that route already, no response to anything. Think I may be screwed...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FX 8350 birthdaymonkey Price Check 2 June 27, 2013 09:18 AM
I7 930 vs amd fx 8350 DBGP CPU's and Motherboards 10 May 1, 2013 03:56 PM
BNIB FX 8350 overhauled101 Price Check 2 March 11, 2013 06:57 AM
Crosshair V vs Crosshair V Thunderbolt Masteroderus New Builds 6 January 26, 2012 09:23 AM