Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2013, 08:15 AM
tr9gic's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Default faulty video card?

hi :), I was looking for some expertise, I don't have a lot of knowledge compared to others with computers so I thought I'd ask here (if this is the right place).

so recently (~2 weeks ago) I bought a new computer and it got to my place a couple days later. When I was trying to set it up there were problems connecting to a display straight from when I powered it up for the first time. I was trying w/ my tv via hdmi so I thought it might be hdmi and I went to a vga cable. This didn't work either so I thought it might be the tv itself. I swiped the monitor from the family dinosaur, and used the vga from there. It wouldn't display anything either. Did I do something to the computer or is there some hardware issues within:?

Thanks for your opinion.

Last edited by tr9gic; December 1, 2013 at 08:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2013, 10:56 AM
LoTech's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default

Some new computers have onboard GPU via motherboard. Some come with a video card installed. Which video outlet are you using? If there is only one then something else may be wrong. IF there are a few outputs have you tried them all? Have you seen anything displayed from this pc yet? It does have an OS installed doesn't it? When you boot do you here a single beep? Are there any lights inside that glow, usually green or red and then go out. If all else fails see if you can borrow a buddies monitor or take your pc over and try there. Maybe also try service desk from where you bought it.
__________________

p://www.hardfolding.com/fhtag.php/mem/7984290/26/1.png[/IMG][/url]
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2013, 12:11 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,396

My System Specs

Default

as above said check that .
also it would help to know what your PC specs are .

is there any beeps when you first turn on you pc? are the fans running when powered up both PC and video card fans.
also does you Video card need power if it does check to make sure that it is plugged in
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2013, 06:26 PM
tr9gic's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Everything was running(fans, lights, all the goods) I believe it had an OS installed, why does that make a difference? I tried it on both the onboard outlets and installed graphics card.

I'll get the specs if you need it later
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2013, 06:28 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,538

My System Specs

Default

Are you hearing any beeps, or windows booting sounds etc to indicate that its indeed a video problem?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2013, 06:30 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,637
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
Are you hearing any beeps, or windows booting sounds etc to indicate that its indeed a video problem?
Beeps do not happen unless you have a speaker plugged into the motherboard. They do not come with speakers these days.. and not for a long time.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2013, 06:55 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,538

My System Specs

Default

I'm assuming its a prebuilt, if thats the case it will have a speaker.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2013, 07:23 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,637
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
I'm assuming its a prebuilt, if thats the case it will have a speaker.
Do not assume. When I prebuilt I seldomly put the speaker on.

If by prebuilt you mean Dell or a manufacturer then yes.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2013, 07:32 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,538

My System Specs

Default

Yes I'm talking brick and mortar PC.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2013, 04:22 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,955
Default

sounds if no OS installed, yes we need spec's

Motherboard model and OS version 32 or 64bit ?

question did it come with a motherboard manual or is a brand name computer
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Faulty Video Card? BEEPBEEPTaxi Video Cards 9 September 20, 2012 02:02 AM
Question about sound card placement in relation to video card. QuiZNo Audio 5 January 18, 2012 01:58 PM
Faulty card? Chalaska Video Cards 1 July 19, 2011 03:51 PM
WTB: Video Card/Sound Card/Hard drive - Look here if u gotz some ! Flintblade Buy/Sell & Trade 4 December 4, 2008 09:27 PM