Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2013, 01:21 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,377

My System Specs

Default i'm confused

I'll try and keep this short.

I bought an asus refurb board from memx with an a8 6600 APU. Ram B slots were screwed up some how so I used the A slots and everything seemed to be fine. A couple days ago the video quit working (black screen)

So while I have soulessone21 helping me with a replacement board from Asus I also purchased a used MSI board from someone here. While I wait for the RMA board the MSI one will do or so I thought. I was planning on using the MSI for another build down the road but it should work as a temp solution? I installed the MSI board and APU fired it up and I get 5 beeps (processor error) so....

I took the CPU to memory express to test it out and it checks out fine... so now I'm stuck.

I've tried the corsair AIO water cooler and stock cooler both seem to be functioning as intended.
I've tried booting with only one stick of ram in either slot
I've unplugged the rom and SSD
I've unplugged the usb and audio so I should at least get to bios.
I have to assume the MSI board is ok since it's posting
I'm left wondering if I have to go and buy a bundle system from memx and start over again.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2013, 02:14 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,377

My System Specs

Default

ok so this isn't completely solved but a small update. Apparently I need a trinity apu to update the bios on the MSI board to accept a richland apu. Apparently the previous owner never updated it. Bah.

I took the original asus refurb board and now it fires up again but this time it fired up out of the case so that rules out the cpu. It still doesn't explain why the thing stopped working to begin with. Gonna pick up a new case and a cheap trinity APU today and try again. I'm really starting to have my doubts about asus products. I see more of them on the clearance shelf than any other board.

They need to make mobos up-datable without the cpu... and if they do I surely haven't seen it done.

bah rawr rawr rawr
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2013, 04:22 PM
ShinraCorp's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Gatineau
Posts: 449

My System Specs

Default

My experience with ASUS mobos is that they're always lemon the first time for some reason so after an RMA it works flawlessly.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2013, 08:25 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,377

My System Specs

Default

I was right about the bios... the board works fine. Guess this is the new setup and I'll find a new home for the a8 6600 at a later date.

Hopefully it gives me less hassles than the asus setup. Grabbed an n200 with the cpu.. much better case.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Confused on appropriate PPD now... Caldezar HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 April 6, 2013 08:14 AM
Confused about SSD please help. Marwan5418 Storage 9 November 26, 2011 08:22 PM
So confused.. xD Chef New Builds 1 November 21, 2011 08:57 PM
I am so confused about RAM bonanza2000 RAM 6 February 1, 2011 03:25 AM
which ram to get confused hellokittyonline2 RAM 4 December 25, 2010 11:45 PM