Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2013, 11:46 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,383

My System Specs

Default is there a test for a motherboards Lan

I have been noticing that my internet has been disconnecting off and on over the past month, at first I thought that it was my router ( shaw crap) but every thing else that connects to the router stays connected so now I am thinking that it might be the onboard LAN I am using on Asrock z77 motherboard.
Is there a way I can test it to see if that is what it is?

Last edited by Shadowmeph; November 3, 2013 at 11:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2013, 01:20 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,097

My System Specs

Default

One CAT 6 cable right to Shaw box 6/7 feet Long. Pull Plugs on everything else.

Run Speed Test. Net / and ping test. Closest hoast you can Find.

See What Happens.

Down load From Nividia or someone newest driver or something see how it preforms. Site you trust the most.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2013, 01:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,396

My System Specs

Default

hope ya didnt install the nvidia software for the internet. Only install the lan driver nothin else.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2013, 03:13 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,383

My System Specs

Default

the only nvid stuff I use is for my video cards . I did all of those tests everything seems normal it is strange because it doesn't hap[pen all of the time but when it does I try a different PC or laptop and have no problems then I go back to my problems lan pc and it still has no connection
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2013, 03:15 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,097

My System Specs

Default

Try Azrock fore latest LAN driver ??
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2013, 08:17 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,951
Default

or a bad cable to PC or is green mode, power saving option
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2013, 08:50 PM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 642

My System Specs

Default

Could be overload on the nic. Had same issue if downloading 2-3 things at once may overwhelm the port had that issue with cheap onboard lan. But speedtest is good check will give you a quality check from A to F depending how bad issue is.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2013, 09:04 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,383

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
or a bad cable to PC or is green mode, power saving option
How do I change the powersaving option for lan?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2013, 11:49 AM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,097

My System Specs

Default

USB3.0 to RJ 45

Woks nice


http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...3.0#post699086

Dongle lowfat using is win
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2013, 12:44 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default

I have a Asrock Z68M-ITX board that just about everyday drops the internet connection and I have to go and reboot the router. Reboot the router and the internet comes back up.

None of the other machines on the network does that so I know it isn't the router or the network it's got to be the MB. Haven't figured out a way to fix it but if anyone has a suggestion let me know. Everything else about the computer works great. temps are low, etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes