Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2013, 01:03 PM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

Awesome!
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2013, 01:05 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by odis172 View Post
In regards to the 4/8 pin, sounds like you have the 8 pin correctly attached. If you don't get it going, you can bring it over to my place and I'll take a look at it.
thanks for the offer! everything's good now :)
__________________
GA-965P-DS3 rev3.3 | C2D E6550 + TRUE | eVGA 9800GTX+ | Enermax Liberty 500W | Corsair PC2 800MHz 4x1024MB |CM RC-690 |WD 3200AAKS | W7 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2013, 01:11 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,949
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AFG34 View Post
oh I didn't know you had to connect a speaker to the pc to get bios beeps...well anyways i just connected my speakers to the 'front' jack and it still didn't make a sound

everything is the same as my sig except the motherboard is now an asus p5q, and im using the stock heatskin/fan instead of the one by thermaltake I had before
get manual here PDF zip read cover to cover
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2013, 08:05 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,095

My System Specs

Default

Swap in your 9800 GTYX + see if it works ??

Could be you old board is still good if the 9800 is no go ??
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2013, 08:10 PM
Entilza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 107

My System Specs

Default

Now you can bake your video card and get that fixed too :P
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2013, 08:29 PM
howpet's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Peterborough On
Posts: 255

My System Specs

Default

Did you do a fresh install of windows??
Swapping out mobo's without a fresh install of drivers and whatnot kinda makes everything go wonky, especially so since your upgrading from a gigabyte 965 chipset to an asus p45 chipset.
Everything is probably fine its just your hard drive doesn't know how to communicate to the rest of the system now.
It's not as simple as switching out a gpu .
EDIT: I missed 1 of the postings....It can be as simple as switching out a gpu...

Last edited by howpet; October 26, 2013 at 08:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2013, 08:50 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,374

My System Specs

Default

did yuou check to make sure that the power cable is connected to the vid card also maybe switch the power cable tha tis attached to the video card with a different pcie power cable to see if it makes any difference? if tyhjat doesn't work then maybe pull the card and check the actual PCIE slot to see if anything is bent of out of place
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No video signal Greyhair Video Cards 12 December 18, 2012 03:23 PM
Computer turns on by itself after being asleep for a few seconds eltiti55555 Troubleshooting 6 July 19, 2012 10:09 AM
Computer turns on for a split seconds then turns off after using AMD overdrive TomMiller Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 18 January 17, 2012 03:51 AM
Video Signal Loss Zodiak Troubleshooting 14 August 3, 2011 09:33 AM
computer turns on and off repeatedly Randyman CPU's and Motherboards 21 December 8, 2009 10:32 AM